Made my desk Sci-Fi-like with Philips Hue Lightstrip

My dream desk has got improved.

Takuya Matsuyama
Carefully Cut Corners
3 min readOct 19, 2019

--

Hi, it’s Takuya.

I had a problem with my working room due to its spotlights on the ceiling.

My desk is a standing desk which can change its height (See this article for more detail).

The problem is my iMac’s display reflects the lights when I raised the desk height and that’s so dazzling and distracting.

So I consider an indirect lighting and bought a Philips Hue Lightstrip.

Let’s unbox it.

It turned up immediately once connected to an outlet.

You don’t need any glue to put it as it has already a double-sided tape.

Paired it with my Philips Bridge. You can change its color like this:

Cool. I put the adapter under the desk.

It’s hard to see though, I put the lightstrip on the side of the table top. It looks like steady enough.

Looks nice. My desk got indirectly lightened up!

Spooky…hehehe

It looks like Sci-Fi!

Had some cable management.

I like it so far!

--

--

Takuya Matsuyama
Carefully Cut Corners

I’m an indie SaaS developer currently building a Markdown note-taking app called Inkdrop. https://www.inkdrop.app/ Homepage: https://www.craftz.dog/