4 Questions with Justina Nixon-Saintil

Director of Corporate Social Responsibility at Verizon

Women of Silicon Valley
#CaribbeanTechies
2 min readJun 30, 2020

--

Justina Nixon-Saintil (she/her) has a Mechanical Engineering degree, and her career has spanned leadership roles across marketing, program management, network engineering, and social responsibility. Currently, she focuses on creating and leading programs that address the barriers to digital inclusion.

1. Where’s your hometown?

Calibishie, Dominica.

2. How did you get into STEM?

As a child, I was very curious about how things worked and enjoyed problem-solving, especially in math. I had no exposure to engineers, or even a thorough understanding of what engineers did, but my older sister guided me to apply to the School of Engineering at the University at Buffalo. It was a difficult journey, but I prevailed and graduated as the only Black woman in Mechanical Engineering that year. It was one of the best decisions I’ve ever made as it opened many doors, provided a good salary, and allowed me to enjoy using my engineering skills throughout my career.

3. What’s a challenge you’ve faced, and how did you get through it?

The most significant challenge I’ve faced was the birth of my second child at 25 weeks. Prior to his birth, I was on the leadership track and was being developed for a promotion within my company. After his birth, I spent 7 years outside of the workforce focusing on his needs, and that of his siblings.

During this time, I decided to focus on education and eventually accepted a new opportunity within the Corporate Social Responsibility organization at Verizon to create programs that provide STEM skills to underresourced students. In addition to having a positive impact on young people who look like me, I also was able to significantly increase Verizon’s investment in communities of color, and had the opportunity to work closely with the Obama administration as well.

4. What’s something you’ve done that you are immensely proud of?

I’m extremely proud of a program that I created in partnership with over 20 HBCUs to bring next-generation technology curriculum and STEM skills to Black and Latino middle school boys. This program is a free 3-week summer camp that continues on one Saturday a month throughout the academic year. Personal growth and empowerment sessions are included, and the boys are introduced to STEM career professionals and entrepreneurs, as well as receive a mentor from the HBCU. The results have been incredible, with 96% of the boys more interested in STEM and 94% having more confidence in their abilities.

Like what you read? Meet other Women of Silicon Valley on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter.

--

--

Women of Silicon Valley
#CaribbeanTechies

Telling the stories of resilient women & genderqueer techies, especially those of color.