4 Questions with Narda Chisholm-Greene

Senior Manager at Verizon

Women of Silicon Valley
#CaribbeanTechies
2 min readJun 30, 2020

--

Narda Chisholm-Greene (she/her) is a proud Jamaican-born, naturalized citizen of the United States. She is a resident of South Orange, New Jersey, and holds a Master Degree of Science from Stevens Institute of Technology.

Narda is a Senior Manager at Verizon who manages an automation and integration team. She finds so much joy in her role, knowing that she is creating something special that will help her company grow. Her team implements automation use cases that provide efficiency and saves costs for her organization.

Narda says, “Nothing has made me more proud than seeing my company stand with me in the fight against racial injustice.” As a mother of five children, their health and well being is paramount. It takes a village, whether it is the care and love given to her children by their late grandmother, Ilean Chisholm, or the support of communities, government, and corporations like Verizon that help to make our villages better.

Narda is currently a trustee on the board of the Black Parents Workshop Inc (BPW), an organization founded to advocate for Black students in the South Orange and Maplewood school districts of New Jersey and address systemic issues that result in higher suspension rates of Black male students, as well as lack of access to advanced courses.

1. Where’s your hometown?

I was born in Kingston, Jamaica and migrated to the United States when I was eight years old.

2. How did you get into STEM?

After migrating to the United States, I found that science was always my strong suit. Both my parents were in the health field in Jamaica, and my father loved science and encouraged me to imagine the impossible. The plan was to become a pharmacist; however, over 19 years ago, I started working for one of the largest wireless technology companies, and it afforded me the opportunity to get involved with STEM.

3. What’s a challenge you’ve faced, and how did you get through it?

One of the biggest challenges I have faced is changing the perception others have created for me, especially in the workplace. I had to become more vulnerable and open so that people saw me as relatable. I do believe that people are more comfortable if they think you have similarities.

4. What’s something you’ve done that you are immensely proud of?

I am proud that my team has grown into developers who use code to address over 30K transactions, which normally would require human interaction. It’s a huge gain in efficiency for the organization.

Like what you read? Meet other Women of Silicon Valley on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter.

--

--

Women of Silicon Valley
#CaribbeanTechies

Telling the stories of resilient women & genderqueer techies, especially those of color.