4 Questions with Sheryl Duffus Williams

Network Engineer in Verizon Communication

Women of Silicon Valley
#CaribbeanTechies
3 min readJun 29, 2020

--

Sheryl Duffus Williams (she/her) is a Network Engineer in Verizon Communication, New York, on the Voice & Video Engineering Core Network Engineering team. She obtained an MBA from Long Island University and Master’s of Science in Information Systems from Stevens Institute of Technology.

Sheryl believes there is a place for all women in science and technology. She is an avid champion for continuous self-improvement and the power of education, which she believes is the catalyst for changing circumstances no matter how humble your beginnings might be.

1. Can you tell us a bit about yourself?

I am an immigrant from Kingston, Jamaica, who came to this country at the age of 14 with the hope of having a bright and successful future here. After completing high school, I was fortunate to obtain an internship at the Inroads Inc. and was matched with Verizon, formerly Nynex, as my sponsoring organization. It was the opportunity of a lifetime for me and my family!

I was able to do my internship for four summers and worked part-time with Verizon while I obtained my undergraduate degree in Computer Science at Iona College. Thereafter I started working as a full-time employee in 2000.

2. How did you get into STEM?

It started out with a fascination for computers and how they seemed to make work easier with the click of a button. Even though I could not afford a personal computer at the time, I would spend hours in my college computer labs developing my skillsets.

Over the years, I realized the importance of STEM and how it drives growth and innovation. As a mother of two daughters, aged 11 and 6, I try to reinforce the value of STEM in our education curriculum. STEM develops their critical thinking and pushes them beyond what they think is possible.

3. What’s a challenge you’ve faced, and how did you get through it?

A personal challenge I’ve faced is overcoming the feeling of not being good enough. Emigrating from Jamaica as a teenager, I have always felt the pressure to assimilate. I overcame it by immersing myself in my educational pursuits, and in doing so, built up the self-esteem to know I could achieve anything I wanted to, no matter where I was living. In May of 2018, I graduated with a 3.973 GPA from Stevens Institute of Technology, a great personal achievement considering where I started from.

4. What’s something you’ve done that you are immensely proud of?

Completing Verizon’s Women of the World (WOW), a Professional Leadership Development Program for developing key skills such as effective communication, self-leadership, critical thinking, career ownership, and personal brand development. It provided me the opportunity to network with women professionals across our Global Network and Technology Organization, and I am so proud to be part of a company that supports women who are trying to be the best version of themselves.

The WOW program was also a great opportunity for me to take my leadership skills to the next level and exceed my business as usual contributions. I want to be part of the movement to bring new ideas to the table that will propel Verizon to the next level.

Like what you read? Meet other Women of Silicon Valley on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter.

--

--

Women of Silicon Valley
#CaribbeanTechies

Telling the stories of resilient women & genderqueer techies, especially those of color.