4 Questions with Tennessee Watt

Digital Corporate Communications Consultant

Women of Silicon Valley
#CaribbeanTechies
4 min readMay 16, 2020

--

Tennessee Watt (she/her) is a digital corporate communications consultant who creates reputation-building digital content for FTSE100 companies. She grew up in London, England, where she graduated from a Masters in Management and Digital Innovation from Imperial College London.

1. Where’s your hometown?

London.

2. How did you get into STEM?

I studied business at university (twice!), specializing in digital platforms. I’d always loved the marketing side of business as it seemed more creative. I knew when I graduated that I wanted to work in a tech-focused corporate role without having to code.

I did a few internships in digital marketing and really liked it. It catered to the left side of my brain that loves data and rational thinking, and the right-side that liked out-of-the-box, emotionally-driven thinking.

After graduating, I tried a few full-time roles in marketing and media, but the culture was very hierarchical; those in junior positions received only basic tasks. I’d spend day after day doing simple data entry, literally copying and pasting cells in Excel. There was no analysis involved. I felt like I wasn’t really using my degrees or being challenged.

The only remotely challenging task I was given was to research consumer behavior using a tool called TouchPoints. This company had basically surveyed a sample of the UK on what they were doing at different times of the day, using a phone app to let them input their activity at different moments. It meant that media planners could learn what most 18–34 year olds were doing at lunchtime. Which technologies were they using? Which modes of transport? We’d then use this data as as rationale to build media plans for clients.

I was fascinated with the insights, and I worked hard to master the tool. I asked my manager when I was going to be able to put the media plan narratives together, only to be told, “It will take about a year or two.” I remember thinking, Why can’t I do it now? And how am I ever going to learn anything valuable over the next two years if all you trust me with is admin? It didn’t make any sense to me that someone more senior than me would write up a summary of analysis that I had performed.

After that role, I got into corporate communications, and it was almost by accident. I applied for a digital executive role not knowing much at all about corporate communications, except for that it typically meant businesses trying to save their reputations. When I started, I was finally given the level of responsibility I craved. Not only was I able to run digital campaigns, but also come up with ideas for building audiences and analyzing their conversations.

I was able to build on the consumer audience research skills I’d gained using TouchPoints and TGI and apply them to different stakeholder groups like investors and journalists. I was also exposed to micro-targeting, that is targeting people on an individual level with content. It made me think about the responsibilities that come with using data and technology.

3. What’s a challenge you’ve faced, and how did you get through it?

A challenge I’ve faced is being taken seriously as a communicator and brand strategist. Of course, I’ve faced micro-aggressions from colleagues and higher-ups. Of course, I’ve felt like a token in many meeting rooms, and that I did not belong. Being a person of color, female, and young — these biases may have been against any aspect of my identity, or sometimes the combination of them all.

I’ve never taken it personally. Sometimes it’s about breaking down barriers and preconceptions. For me, the response is now about proving the value I bring to the table. It hasn’t come naturally, as I’ve always been humble and on the cusp of introversion. At first, in meetings, I would always let other people speak first. I’d never end up surfacing my ideas as someone else would always end up saying exactly what I was thinking. It proved that my ideas were valid; I just needed to be able to communicate them. I guess it’s kind of ironic to be a communicator and have struggled to communicate!

Now, I’m the first to speak up in meetings. I’m well read, and I’m constantly trying to learn things adjacent to my main skill-set. I’ve gotten into studying graphic design again for the first time since school, and even started career coaching on the side. So now, I’m able to bring a different perspective on communications to the meetings I have with colleagues.

4. What’s something you’ve done that you are immensely proud of?

The current global pandemic is difficult for everyone. I think I’m most proud of the way I’m getting through it.

I started a new job just after the lockdown began, which means I’ve been working remotely since I started. I haven’t met any of my colleagues in person. We’ve had a lot of Zoom calls, but obviously it’s not the same as being together. I’m realizing how much I miss small talk in the office and evening socials.

But I’m trying to be optimistic about it. To even have a job right now is something to be extremely grateful for. I’m realizing the value in being briefed over email, and having a record of task requirements to reflect on. It’s made me so much more productive.

I’m also glad I don’t have to go through the horrid morning commute in London. There are many work policies I hope remain after lockdown. There’s a lot in terms of work flexibility, communication, and overall wellbeing that organizations can take from this going forward.

Like what you read? Meet other Women of Silicon Valley on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter.

--

--

Women of Silicon Valley
#CaribbeanTechies

Telling the stories of resilient women & genderqueer techies, especially those of color.