4 Questions with Dr. Renee Matthews

Healthcare Industry Leader

Women of Silicon Valley
#CaribbeanTechies
3 min readMay 17, 2020

--

A healthcare industry leader, Dr. Renee Matthews spent the early part of her career as a medical educator and satellite radio show host. A number of media outlets and talk shows currently work with Dr. Renee, who is a long time asthmatic and a passionate, award-winning advocate for asthma education. She has worked with the American Lung Association and was awarded the 2013 Friend of Mobile C.A.R.E. Award for her commitment to raising awareness of asthma in Chicago.

Dr. Renee has been featured in Ebony and Essence magazines, was a contributing writer for Good Enough Mother, Essence, MadameNoire, and Black and Married With Kids, and is currently an on-camera contributor for BlackDoctor.org, where she reports on healthcare news via live-streaming Facebook Live.

Specifically, Dr. Renee addresses the hurdles asthma sufferers encounter in their pursuit of the best possible healthcare by supplying them with tools and knowledge they need to navigate the healthcare system. It is important to Dr. Renee that asthma patients stay safe in the pursuit of care, and are prepared to be active participants in their healthcare.

Dr. Renee is also a sought-after speaker, sharing her expertise on topics including social media, motivation, and inspiration. She encourages audiences to “live the life you deserve,” sharing business advice with founders and entrepreneurs. Dr. Renee has facilitated networking workshops and is especially skilled in teaching the power of intention.

When Dr. Renee is not speaking for organizations and at schools, she hosts the Ask Dr. Renee show, where she interviews entrepreneurs, celebrities, and pop culture icons such as Lisa Nichols, Sally Lou Oaks, Michelle Williams, formerly of Destiny’s Child, Bobby Brown, and quarantine musical pioneer, D-Nice. She is also the host of Out of Office with Dr. Renee, which is seen in 45,0000+ doctors’ office waiting rooms and exam rooms across the United States.

As an active member of the Girl Scouts and a mentor for Save a Girl, Save a World, Dr. Renee is especially passionate about addressing the health concerns of Black women. She has been recognized by patients and professionals for her ability to translate the challenges patients face into tools and solutions they can use to improve their health care and overall outlook on life.

1. Where’s your hometown?

Detroit, Michigan.

2. How did you get into STEM?

I excelled in science and math as a child. I was born with asthma and spent a lot of time in the hospital and naturally decided I wanted to be a doctor. When Twitter came out, I fell in love with social media and staying on top of the latest news. Then, live-streaming came via Periscope. I am now a live-streaming expert and coach, teaching people how to look like they have a production company in their own home.

3. What’s a challenge you’ve faced, and how did you get through it?

My parents taught me at a young age I had to be better than the best. I had to fight at every turn to be able to take the classes I knew I was capable of taking. I had tons of people tell me I was not smart enough for medical school. I had a few people tell me I was not “college material.” My parents taught me to not worry about the naysayers, work hard, and pray. I give God the Glory for all the blessings.

4. What’s something you’ve done that you are immensely proud of?

I am immensely proud of seeing many of my dreams come true. I know that hard work truly does pay off and prayer changes things. I am currently planning my inaugural #LiveLifeYouDeserve Wellness Retreat in Antigua, and I know this will introduce more people to my island home.

Like what you read? Meet other Women of Silicon Valley on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter.

--

--

Women of Silicon Valley
#CaribbeanTechies

Telling the stories of resilient women & genderqueer techies, especially those of color.