A glimpse into our Business Intelligence team at Mudah.my

Natalie Lim
Carousell Insider
Published in
4 min readJun 29, 2022
Nizam from Mudah.my’s Business Intelligence team

This series takes a peek into what each of our team does across brands in Carousell Group and how they work with the other teams towards our mission of inspiring every person in the world to start selling and buying to make more possible for one another. Mudah.my Sdn. Bhd, part of Carousell Group, is Malaysia’s largest digital platform for selling and finding almost anything.

Malaysia’s largest digital platform for selling and finding almost anything Mudah.my is known by its tagline — semua pun mudah, meaning everything is also Mudah. It is almost serendipitous, and very apt, to describe Data Scientist Nizam’s career with Mudah.my or Mudah for short.

“My journey with Mudah is not the typical fresh-grad-job-hunting-interview-wait-for-the-call story like what most people went through,” he shares. Back in 2014, Nizam had a few months break before starting his Bachelors in Actuarial Science. His friend introduced him to Mudah Jobs, so he could find a temporary job for pocket money. He opted to post a job seeker ad instead of applying to vacancies.

Replica of the jobseeker ad that Nizam posted on Mudah Jobs for reference

Shortly after, he received an email from a Mudah staff offering a temporary job role. “I find it very interesting that the job platform is the one offering me a job. I had interviews with Caressa (Content Manager), Zul (Assistant Content Manager), and Omar, the then-CEO of Mudah.my, and I felt very welcomed and accepted the job at Mudah.my as a part time Content Reviewer. Fast forward about a month into the job, I started experimenting with automations and tried to automate some parts of the job to increase my work efficiency.

This was noticed by both Caressa and Zul, who were very supportive of the effort,” he shared.

After a three-month stint, Nizam returned to his studies. In his final year, his former supervisor Zul shared he wanted Nizam to pioneer a new project that he was planning to propose. “At the end of my summer break, Mudah kept my part-time employment, and allowed me to work remotely during my studies in case they needed my help with the project,” he shared. And two days after his very last exams for undergraduate studies, Nizam joined Mudah as a permanent staff.

However after five months in his current role, Nizam received an offer he almost couldn’t refused. Having studied Actuarial Science, it was his dream job to work as an Actuary at Malaysian National Reinsurance Berhad (MNRB). When he submitted his resignation, Mudah’s CEO Gaurav Bhasin invited him for a casual walk around Mid Valley to chat, a uniquely Mudah practice. “He shared with me about the then-emerging field of Data Science, and that I would have a better future in it as compared to a traditional field. I took his advice and rejected the offer from MNRB. It was the best decision of my life. I’m having much more fun in Data Science compared to my friends in Actuarial Science,” said Nizam.

Nizam (bottom right) with his teammates in a weekly team meeting

In 2018, he joined the Business Intelligence team, which provides data and insights for stakeholders to make informed decisions. He shared, “while my title was Data Analyst, I was more of a Data Engineer, being responsible for building and maintaining data pipelines and ensuring the data being used for analysis is accurate. After the transition to a Data Scientist in 2021, a lot of my time now is spent on training new joiners regarding our data pipelines and managing the data warehouse alongside working on data science projects. For our data science projects, we work closely with the Data Science team at Carousell to refer and discuss from time to time. I also work closer to the Product Analytics subteam in Mudah, where we analyse product performance and give suggestions on how to improve the product based on the data.”

It is this work that gives Nizam meaning to his career. He shares, “As Mudah encourages us to make mistakes and quickly learn from them, I get to experiment with cool technologies that would benefit Mudah’s internal and external users and propose them to Product Managers to be put into their product roadmap.”

As a part of Carousell Group, Mudah and the other family of brands have lots more cross-learning opportunities in the Business Intelligence and Data Science domain, be it by working closely on projects or leveraging on the data generated tens of millions users on our combined platforms.

Be a part of our growing team. Find your ideal role, and join us in making secondhand the first choice.

--

--

Natalie Lim
Carousell Insider

I share all sorts of stories about Carousell — from sellers and buyers to the team working behind the scenes.