A glimpse into working in our Media Sales team

Natalie Lim
Carousell Insider
Published in
4 min readFeb 8, 2021

This series takes a peek into what each of our team does and how they work with the other teams towards our mission of inspiring every person in the world to start selling and buying to make more possible for one another.

Mahira from Media Sales team

It was fortuitous that Pakistan was opening her first startup incubator in Karachi around the same time that Mahira realised that she was not following her calling at her then job in an oil company. The economics graduate saw the impact that technology was creating every day, and found what she was looking for: Working with tech startups who were looking to solve everyday problems.

“My interest in tech and e-commerce paved the rest of my journey, taking me to different e-commerce companies where I worked in Marketing, Partnerships & Business Development roles. I have always been very consumed by wanderlust — to find new experiences and meet new people. Moving to Singapore helped me pursue this with its diverse culture,” said Mahira. This led her to discover Carousell during the course of work.

She shared, “Two years before moving to Singapore, I stumbled across Carousell while doing some research on app experiences when I was working at a B2C Marketplace. When I came to Singapore and applied to Carousell, I knew in my heart that I was coming here. I decided to join Carousell because of its values to be user-first and mission-first. I related to the mission of inspiring every person in the world to start selling and buying, as well as making secondhand the first choice.”

Mahira with her teammates at the former Carousell Singapore office early 2020.

As an Account Manager in the Media Sales and Partnerships team, she works closely with advertisers and partners to create a win-win solution for all using Carousell’s advertising solutions. “We help them to grow their digital penetration and presence across our eight different markets in which Carousell is based. Majority of Carousell’s users are Millennials, which gives brands a big playing ground on Carousell. Be it driving traffic to their brand stores or their shop on online marketplaces or to the app stores, brands can leverage Carousell’s strong brand presence to engage with its users in different ways,” said Mahira, who also works with some of the leading advertising agencies in Singapore in her role.

Screengrab from the Carousell Media Group website explaining brand advertising solutions offered.

Always being ‘user first’ helps Mahira shine in her role. “In my role, the user is my client or the Advertiser who is looking to reach certain objectives with their respective campaigns. I put on a consultative hat and try my best to find the right solution for the advertiser. My proudest achievement so far is winning the bronze Mob-Ex Award for our client Lendela for Most Innovative Use of Mobile last year,” said Mahira.

Mahira (right) with her colleague Lisa holding awards that they had won at the Mob-Ex Awards 2020.

“A regular week would encompass having meetings with Carousell’s partners and advertisers, working through my revenue targets to ensure a healthy sales pipeline, strategising campaigns for my advertisers and executing campaigns, with support of the AdOps team. The need for all these regular meetings was my toughest challenge at the start of 2020. With the COVID-19 emerging, setting up those meetings and developing relationships was a big challenge. Eventually everyone adjusted to the ‘new’ normal and we worked our way through it,” she shares.

Besides work meetings, Mahira and her team also found a way to connect with each other virtually. She shares, “my team catches up over coffee virtually every Wednesday, talking about every random thing in the world or playing games. Since most of my time at Carousell has been WFH, I think some of the most memorable moments have been virtual.”

Her journey with Carousell has helped her fulfil her career aspirations. With the recent launch of the Carousell Media Group, she has moved into a Media Strategist role, where she will work towards defining a regional strategy for Carousell Group’s Family of Brands — Carousell, Mudah, Cho Tot & OneKyat. She said, “I’ve always been passionate about marketing and this new role will help me pursue that.”

Be a part of our growing team. Find your ideal role, and join us in making more possible, together.

--

--

Natalie Lim
Carousell Insider

I share all sorts of stories about Carousell — from sellers and buyers to the team working behind the scenes.