Internship diary of a backend engineering intern at Carousell Taiwan

Natalie Lim
Carousell Insider
Published in
2 min readJan 24, 2024

Written by Tsu-Hsien Shih

Tsu-Hsien in the first row with the Taiwan CarouTeam

My Incredible Internship Journey at Carousell: Sep 2022 — Mar 2023

This marked my first-ever internship. Initially, I was unfamiliar with the role of a backend engineer, and unsure of what working in the field I had been studying for so long would entail. Having the opportunity to understand the work environment and uncover the mysteries of being a backend engineer at Carousell proved to be an enriching experience!

During the internship, tasks were assigned based on my abilities by my colleagues (mentors, managers, etc.) Due to my limited experience in backend engineering, I started with smaller tasks and gradually earned the chance to work on larger projects. In addition to acquiring backend knowledge, I also learned about development processes and collaboration methods. I learned to clarify requirements, write understandable documentation for others, code efficiently, and manage deployments. Beyond individual capabilities, I gained insights into effective communication and collaboration techniques, which are less accessible in school life.

Carousell is a place that highly values employee autonomy and encourages interaction among colleagues. The support and guidance I received here were not limited to my direct supervisor; other team members were also eager to help, understand my status and goals, and introduce me to the right people to broaden my knowledge. The warm and welcoming atmosphere permeated the entire organization, fostering an environment that encouraged interactions with everyone.

What made this internship particularly impactful was Carousell’s inspiring company culture and philosophy. It resonated deeply with me, transforming me into not only a team member but also an avid user of Carousell, wholeheartedly embracing their mission to make second-hand the first choice.

Moreover, at Carousell, I had numerous opportunities to interact with colleagues from different countries. Most meetings were conducted in English, and monthly company-wide tech-sharing meetings allowed me to immerse myself in an English-speaking environment. The company’s culture is devoid of hierarchy; everyone’s ideas were valued, and being an intern did not diminish the weight of my opinions. I’m truly appreciative of having the opportunity to experience such an exceptional work environment here!

Thrilled to have had my first-ever internship at Carousell, it’s been a journey of learning, making amazing friends, and having unforgettable experiences.

--

--

Natalie Lim
Carousell Insider

I share all sorts of stories about Carousell — from sellers and buyers to the team working behind the scenes.