Download CarStream to enjoy YouTube on Android Auto — 100% free

Noah Jayden
CarplayHacks
Published in
3 min readFeb 3, 2021

I love YouTube as it simply gives all the official streaming contents related to any area. And I am someone who can manage to listen to the audio part while driving. Before moving to BMW, my car was not an Android Auto compatible one and I used the InCar app which provides most useful entertainment apps like YouTube, TuneIn etc.

Since YouTube was not available for Android Auto even in my new car, I searched for solutions to get it and I found a super amazing solution. And that is CarStream.

Download CarStream

CareStream is an app which enables you to enjoy YouTube on Android Auto. It is developed by a developer called Kiran Kumar. The exciting thing is this is a 100% free method and this does not require rooting or any modification on your phone.

You can simply follow the following steps to enjoy YouTube on Android Auto. I am mentioning the steps according to my OnePlus phone and the steps may be slightly different depending on your Android phone model. You can find the well explained CarStream download steps from Carplayhacks . I’ll brief the steps below for your ease.

1.Download the CarStream APK using the link below and install it to your phone.

Download CarStream APK

2.Open Android auto and go to Settings → About and tap on the version.

android auto about section screenshot

3. Tap on the version details a few times and switch on the developer mode.

4. Then go to the menu indicated by 3 vertical dots and go to the developer settings.

5. Tick on Unknown Resources.

6. Set a preferred video resolution with the option ‘Video Resolution’

So now you are ready to enjoy YouTube on Android Auto. Open the CarStream app and browse anything you want.

But I hope that you will use it wisely, just focusing only on the audio part. Cheers !

--

--