4 Startups That Are Reinventing the Food We Eat

So long farm-to-table, here comes lab-grown meat and yeast-made ice cream

Abbey
CARRE4

--

Photo by Anna Shvets from Pexels

Maybe you can remember when farm-to-table first swept through the nation?

It was the late 2000s, I was a teenager living with my parents and distinctly remember when one restaurant first advertised its menu as ‘farm-to-table.’ This was big news where I come from; Not a lot happens in small-town Wisconsin.

As a white, middle-class family this advertisement practically sucked us through the front door of the restaurant. Farm-to-table you say? Oh, how classy.

While I will always be able to cherish the memory of feeling “fancy” at a farm-to-table cafe in rural Wisconsin, this old trend is quickly being overtaken by a new craze — lab-to-table.

Lab-to-table represents the idea of a food supply that can be grown and contained within the laboratory rather than an industry that heavily relies on non-renewable resources like land and animals.

The idea might sound radical but we are already seeing this transformation begin. Here’s a short list of foods that will be the first to test the viability of the lab-to-table pipeline.

Stem cell-based meat

--

--

Abbey
CARRE4

I’m a food scientist by PhD, a science writer, and a YouTuber. I’m fascinated by food science and enjoy writing and sharing what I’ve learn.