Marut Singh
CARS24 Engineering Blog
3 min readMay 12, 2019

--

Message to my team

Dear All,
Today I want to look back and assess our journey together.
While I have pushed some people bit too far and if I have offended anyone would like to extend my apology but my intent has always been one and only one that is to grow together and in the process add value to organization. Ever since I have worked with programmers from many countries my objective has been one that is to make sure Indian Programmers get trained and mentored to become truly world class and I have always shared whatever little knowledge I have in that direction only.
I would like to share I am proud of working with you all and what we have achieved in last one year as a team. We have worked very hard to reach where we are today. There is tremendous momentum today due to tech and I can say with confidence that tech has brought real value to business. From 2500 to 12500 cars without breaking infrastructure or compromising on speed of execution is a remarkable feat that all of you should be proud of.
Today in terms of strength we are close to 180 and when I had joined we were only 77.
Many of the people who have joined the company have worked with me in past and they simply came on boarded trusting in my capability and skills despite knowing very well that I have extremely high standards. So a BIG Thank you !!.
People who were already with the company when I joined they simply followed every single word I told them from coding to architecture. I am glad it all worked well in the end.
We have added all this value and automated almost every aspect of business by making sure that despite any external factor we remain focused on what we do best that is building top class software.
We have not just done our job but helped other teams like Data Science and BI at various stages. Even if meant spending grueling hours and explaining things. Only people who can do this are good at heart and totally unselfish.
I would not have been able to achieve anything without tremendous support from each and everyone of you. On one phone call you are ready to leave behind any work irrespective of situation. We have done weekend hiring drives continuously from September. Recruitment team supported on every single moment. We have done coding on weekends, we have made sure each and every requirements even if its given at last moment is catered to.
Despite various flaws in processes as it happens in start ups we have made sure we stay on the course.
Together we have worked on new and exciting technologies and introduced many new world class practices to bring efficiency to software building.
We have built many new teams and made sure they are up and running from day 0 — a feat impossible for anyone else to achieve.
What other companies build in years we have built in months. This is all possible because of relentless focus on execution. Nothing else but sheer Execution.
Many people who have not developed software before would not be able to appreciate just like a common man can say to a doctor “oh I also knew the name of the medicine”. Well while that common man may be right in knowing the name of the medicine he would never know what combination that drug has and what impact it would make on a person who is diabetic.
Just like that software engineering is all about knowing machines and their behavior in various circumstances. From Design, coding and testing to automation to deployment its an extremely complex process with various stages which very few can master.
Understanding what will work and what will not. What will cost more and what will less. What should be done now and what later.
Skill of building software is absolute and not subject to interpretation. One thing that all of you should remember is software skill is something that can be utilized across any industry. So be proud of what you have achieved and be proud of your effort.
What you have learned in this period will go a long way to give you a bright and successful career.
So keep learning and believe the statement from your heart “Talk is cheap..Show me the code” — Linus Trovalds

--

--