Writing

Here’s What Happened After I Became a Friend of Medium

My Experience as a Friend of Medium

Atif Sharif
Cash Flow

--

Medium Non-Members Can Read The Full Story! HERE

Photo by Marek Studzinski on Unsplash

I have been writing on Medium for a few months now and I was happy to see that I made $109.88 in December 2023.

I thought that maybe I could increase my earnings if I became a Friend of Medium, so I decided to give it a try in January 2024.

I paid $15 for the membership and expected to see some benefits from it. However, I was disappointed with the results.

According to Medium, being a Friend of Medium means that you support the writers you read more and that you get access to exclusive content and features.

It also means that you get a badge next to your name that shows your status as a Friend of Medium.

I thought that this would help me attract more readers and followers, as well as more claps and comments. I also hoped that it would improve my distribution and curation chances.

However, none of these things happened. In fact, I noticed that my earnings went down in January 2024.

Photo by Marcel Strauß on Unsplash

I only made $84.95, which is almost $25 less than what I made in December 2023. I was confused and frustrated by this but I say thanks God for everything. Alhamdulilah :)

How could being a Friend of Medium make me earn less?

I did some research and found out that being a Friend of Medium does not guarantee any increase in earnings.

Screenshot by Atif Sharif

In fact, it may even reduce them. This is because when you are a Friend of Medium, you pay four times more to the writers you read than when you are a regular member.

This means that you are giving away more money to other writers, but not receiving more money from other readers.

This also means that being a Friend of Medium does not affect your own earnings at all.

Your earnings depend on how many people read your stories, how long they read them, and how much they clap for them.

Being a Friend of Medium does not change any of these factors. It only changes how much you pay to other writers.

I realized that being a Friend of Medium was not worth it for me. I did not see any benefits from it, only drawbacks.

I decided to cancel my membership in February 2024 and go back to being a regular member.

I hope that this will help me increase my earnings again in March 2024.

I still think that Medium is a great platform for writers and readers.

There are many ways to make money from it, such as affiliate marketing, selling ebooks, offering services, etc. However, being a Friend of Medium is not one of them, at least not for me.

--

--

Atif Sharif
Cash Flow

SEO & PPC Expert, Content Writer. Helping companies attract potential customers through organic search results. Contact me: https://direct.me/atifsharif