Planning to climb Mt. Kenya? Here’s a breakdown of all you need to know

Lisa Kimondo
Cast in Africa
Published in
7 min readNov 17, 2020

2019 was a year I was determined to try new things, and that is when I picked up hiking. It all began quite casually, the only hiking gear I had was one dri-fit top, one pair of hiking pants and hiking boots. A few months in, I was determined to summit both Mt. Kenya and Mt. Kilimanjaro, but fear always crept up.

‘Am I ready?’

‘What will happen if I don’t make it to the top?’

I was crippled by the constant fear and doubt that creeps up when you are about to achieve your dream.

This led me to always finding excuses (though some valid) on why I could not make it for the scheduled climbs to either mountain. In March 2020 I was ready to conquer my fear, but corona happened, and everything had to be postponed. Come October, my hiking group (Tipwa Tipwa) was headed for Mt. Kenya, but I had just returned from my road-trip and had a lot of catching up to do.

A picture of the hikers, potters, chefs, guides and media team that had come to record the founder of Hikeamaniak as he ran up Mt. Kenya in 12hrs (but actually did it in about 10hrs). His story is such an inspiration! You can learn more about the founder, Gitonga, here.

One random Saturday, as I was jogging through Karura with my sister I had an epiphany, ‘Why not do Mt. Kenya in November?’ I was determined that this year would not end without summitting either Mt. Kenya or Kilimanjaro. I searched for groups going in November and found one group, Hikeamaniak, scheduled for 9th — 13th November. I was set! Two weeks before the climb, I began adding to my hiking gear. Below is a list of things you will need to hike any major mountain, though ensure you also ask the group you are hiking with for a checklist.

Buying hiking gear (second-hand) from scratch can cost you anywhere between Ksh. 15,000–30,000 depending on your bargaining skills and the number of items you buy, for instance I only bought two thermal tops and one pair of waterproof and woolen pants, you can play around with the numbers as you see fit. However, if your clothes get rained on, it helps to have more clothes.

Pic 1: Me sitting in the sun attempting to dry my clothes; Pic 2: Stopping to refill our water bottles at a stream

If you want new stuff, check out Decathlon, but keep in mind the budget will be much higher. Personally, I spent around Ksh. 13,000 since I was referred to people in Toi and Parklands where I got good deals, plus I borrowed some items from a hiking buddy. If I purchased everything I needed, I would have spent about Ksh. 20,000.

The prices to climb Mt. Kenya vary with the number of days, the route, number of people and whether you are going with an established group or organizing directly with the guide. I opted for a 5-day hike via the Chogoria — Sirimon route which usually ranges between Ksh. 36,000–45,000 (for Kenyan citizens) depending on the organization and the number of people. The more you are, the lower the prices. You can learn more about the tentative pricing structure and routes here.

Day 2: The scenic Chogoria route & The Nithi Falls
The trail in Day 3 — You can see the drastic change in vegetation compared to day 2

The 5 days up through Chogoria and down Sirimon were broken down as follows:

Layers in day 1 (Pic 1 — I only have hiking pants, my hiking top, cap and my jacket) vs Layers after summitting (pic 2 — Literally wearing almost all my clothes — I described my layers in the table above ). Pic 3 is how I was dressed while walking to the summit. That thick scarf really came through!

The standard gear you will carry every day is:

  • Backpack with water bottles or hydration bladder (which I got locally from Hawi Outdoors)
  • Snacks i.e Energy bars, nuts & trail mixes, juice boxes, chocolates, sweets and fruits eg apples, oranges.
  • Sun hat & Marvin (the weather changes often between hot and cold, I also always had a thick scarf with me)
  • Poncho & Raincoat.
  • Sunglasses — especially on summit day, to avoid snow blindness.
  • Hiking poles (though this depends, some only use them on the summit day)

For the sleeping arrangement (we slept in tents), you’ll often end up sleeping in the clothes you’ll hike in the following day so no need for pajamas, though I did carry sweatpants which I wore when we were heading back to Nairobi.

Pic 1: Night 2 next to Lake Ellis where we dared each other to take a dip when we got to the camp. It was definitely worth it!; Pic 2: I managed to get both a mattress and sleeping mat on this night. The little joys!

The potters and chefs will leave after you and go ahead of you to set up the next camp and meal while carrying all your luggage (except the luggage which will be in your day pack).

Also carry comfortable shoes that you will wear on your way back and at the end of every day (slippers and sneakers will do). I had to wear my hiking boots back since I forgot my sneakers.

Last tips,

  1. Always buy hiking boots that are a size bigger. Boots that you can wear two layers of thick socks with.
  2. Layer the bag the potter will carry with polythene bags. Personally I used the black polythene bags used to line trash bins. It will help keep your luggage dry in case of any rains.
  3. Potters should only carry a maximum of 15kgs, so ensure your bag doesn’t surpass that.
  4. Some hiking organisations give you sleeping mats so you don’t need to carry one. Make sure to confirm with them. Some also hire out hiking gear like sleeping bags, hiking poles etc So its always key to check with the organisation.
Views like this make it all worth it

Final words:

Climbing a mountain tests both your physical and mental capacity. Being physically fit/an experienced hiker does play a huge role given the changes in terrain and altitude, but your mind eventually has the final say as is with any challenge.

For anyone looking to climb any mountain, remember:

1. Give yourself a chance. For someone climbing a mountain for the first time, you might never feel ready, but you will never know if you are until you try, so take the step and see what happens!

2. Carry the right gear!! I cannot emphasis this enough. Research online, ask people who’ve hiked the mountain before and use the checklist given by the organization.

3. Do practice hikes, especially altitude hikes such as Elephant Hill, Satima, Table Mountain Aberdares etc. This will help you know how your body reacts to high altitudes since everyone reacts differently. Also since high altitudes make every step harder, it will be a chance to practice that positive self talk.

Stopping to eat an energy bar before proceeding to the summit — I didn’t have breakfast since high altitudes make me nauseous so I survived on biscuits and energy bars.

4. Snacks are key! Energy bars, nuts & trail mixes, juice boxes, chocolates, sweets and fruits where possible.

5. Listen to your body. Go according to your pace, the mountains know no gender or age, enjoy the walk! The guides are very patient and are there to ensure you make it to the end, so talk to them in case of anything. Just have fun and if you need to take a break, take it. Your body knows best and as one of the guides told me when I was scared that I was walking too slow, ‘We have the whole day, so what’s the rush?’

A picture with our amazing guide

6. Lastly, just keep swimming. It will get to a point where the destination will seem so far and all you can do is focus on the next step and the next. That is ok. Just remember to keep swimming! Those small baby steps are what will eventually get you to the top.

All the best as you embark on this rewarding journey! Feel free to ask any questions/add on to the tips shared. Looking forward to hearing about your experience once you take the leap. :)

#ChooseToThrive

--

--

Lisa Kimondo
Cast in Africa

A lover of art, science and technology. A knowledge enthusiast longing to soak and dwell in diverse cultures, emerging better and wiser.