Modding as a path to game creation

bridgs dev
Castle Games Blog
Published in
2 min readOct 14, 2019

Twenty years ago, I had a group of friends that were spending all their time playing one game: Counter-Strike 1.6. I’ve never been good at shooting games, so instead of contributing with an excellent KDA ratio, I decided to try my hand at making a new map for us to play together.

Like many games of that era, Counter-Strike provided modding tools that allowed you to make your own levels. So I downloaded a little tool called Hammer Editor — Valve’s official level-making tool. I read and reread every tutorial I came across, posted questions on forums, and struggled to get things working for well over a month.

But it was worth it when at a LAN party I unveiled a custom map that transformed the entire game into a match of dodgeball. It was a new way for us to experience the game together! And despite being an admittedly janky and ugly map, I felt a real sense of fulfillment. I made a map! That silly act of creation ended up being the spark that sent me down the path of technology and engineering which now makes up my full-time career.

Valve Hammer Editor, official mapping tool for Source engine games

That’s why it’s sad to see how few games put these types of tools in the hands of the community. Creation is a really empowering experience, and making levels and mods is a fantastic way to start learning how to make games.

Now, imagine what would happen if an entire game platform was filled with games that embraced modding and level-creation and awesome user-generated content. That’s what we want to do with Castle. We want to create a space where devs of all skill levels can share games of all sizes, each one fostering more creation in turn.

Dungeons by trasevol-dog, a game about making dungeons with your friends

We’re still getting our start, so there’s a lot left to build and a lot of open questions to answer. But if any of this sounds interesting to you, please join our discord. The more the merrier!

--

--