Rising Star Danny Jackson: “Be grateful to yourself for any successes you have along the way because you made it happen!”

Castle of Truth
Castle Of Truth
Published in
8 min readApr 5, 2021

We had the distinct pleasure of interviewing Danny Jackson.
When summarising Danny Jackson’s film, TV, music and sound production career one word Motley springs to mind — exhibiting great diversity of elements. Over the last nine years, his work has consisted of a film composer, actor, musician, voice-over artist, production sound mixer and boom op. Is this man obsessed, or does the industry have a gravitational pull over his psyche? Let’s zero in and find out.

Thank you so much for interviewing with us! Can you share your story on how did you get started in the film industry?

In 2012 I boarded the roller-coaster and found myself releasing my first album. I got the whole deal, I was signed to a label. I even collaborated on the title track with Nick Turner of Hawkwind, a band that I have loved for years. At that point the record label decided that my profile needed to be raised, so they found me an acting agent. It was perfect for me as I had had a brief amateur acting career in my teenage years. Highlight then, winning an award presented to me by Norman Wisdom in the Isle of Man. These events lead me to my first job as an extra in the film Molly Moon and the Incredible Book of Hypnotism, starring Joan Collins. No dialogue at this stage, but what a magical experience. It didn’t take long for other jobs to follow, and I found myself on sets with director’s, actors and actresses at the top of their game. SA roles became featured, featured became body doubles and eventually talking roles in shorts and commercials came along, perfect for showreel material. My first commercial was for Walkers Crisps. I came out of costume and makeup wearing a 1980’s shell suit and my hair had been cut into a respectable mullet. All of which was an important introduction to the industry.

Who are you grateful for your success and can you share a story about that?

When friends and family find out you are pursuing an acting career, they naturally become concerned due to the lack of stability that the job brings. So, not much support there. I think that most actors, musicians and artists have to look within and become their own mentors if they want to be successful. Every job/role that I have had is due to my efforts. However, sometimes lady luck will poke her proverbial head around the door. I believe many actors are in the same boat. So, if you are going to be grateful for any success, you have to be grateful to yourself for making the dream a reality. I practise hatha yoga at least four times a week, and every session concluded with savasana — a moment to relax and empty your thoughts for 5–10 minutes. When this is over, it is vital to thank yourself for taking the time to invest in your physical and mental well-being. It’s the same with your career — be grateful to yourself for any successes you have along the way because you made it happen!

Can you share the most interesting story that happened to you since you began your career?

Working as a music engineer and producing albums with software, such as Logic Pro X, opened the door for me to start work in location sound production — if I am not working in front of the camera, I sometimes find myself working behind it. Being a big fan of Steve Marriott of the Small Faces, I happened to stumble across a blog about a new film that was going into pre-production. I managed to get in touch with the producer and found out that they needed a boom op. Soon I was in the crew. Little did I know at the time, but the film was going to be directed by Phil Davies and starring Martin Freeman. Martin had just finished filming in the Hobbit trilogy, and I was a big fan of the whole Tolkien empire. The film wrapped, and we managed to complete it without ADR recorded in the studio. On the last day of filming, all the crew had drinks in a pub, one of our locations. I got to the pub found a table only to be joined by Martin and Phil. We sat there all night talking about music, the film industry and anything else that was on our minds. I still get star-struck, but that for me was a great night, and I’ll never forget it.

What has been the biggest challenge in your career so far? How did you overcome it?

Ask any actor/actress this question, and you get the same answer. How do I get the next job? There is no magic trick to finding work. You can contact casting agents, producers, search for roles on Spotlight, IMDB or Mandy. However, if you don’t have what the casting agent wants, you’re not getting the job. You could be the wrong build, your Irish accent sounds like a middle-aged Taiwanese man who has the begging of the flu, or maybe it just doesn’t come together that day at the audition. Maybe you’re just too tall or too thin. Sometimes things are out of your control and it happens a lot. If you can not deal with rejection, then look for another career. For me, I never take things personally. Auditions, I love them because you never know what they will bring. It’s not even about the money for me. It’s the thrill of getting the job, being on set and getting lost in the character you are that day. The euphoria of being cast always outweighs the many rejections I get along the erratic path. So, I overcome my hurdles by knowing, sooner or later, I will be cast.

How do you prepare for the role?

Okay, the first and most obvious is learning lines. Do you want a story behind that? I wake up, read my lines day after day until they were in my head. Cast and crew live happily ever after. After that, I start to look at the relationships between characters within the storyline. One of my first TV credits was playing a guy called Dick Grob (what a name). He was the head of security for Elvis Presley. After researching, I found out that Dick Grob was one of the few people who had Elvis best interest at heart, and Elvis knew that. If you understand relationships between the character on set, you’re on your way to producing good work. I also like to find films that may resemble the character that I have just be cast for. There are some great actors out there, so why not learn from the best. It is also important to keep in touch with the director. You do not want to spend weeks working on your character, only to find out that the director has other ideas.

What methods or techniques do you use to find truth in your character’s behaviour?

I have never liked methods such as Stanislavski, Meisner or Strasberg. By all means, these methods do help to a certain extent but, if you can’t find the character within conscience, then it will show in your performance. Ever since I was that child in the school playground playing cowboys and Indians, cops and robbers, I have always believed that I can be that other person, the villain. My imagination never filtered or diluted over the years. If you can hold on to that childlike imagination, you will produce good work because you believe in it. A child’s mind is increasable, and I have a good example. A friend of mine bought his little boy a Spiderman costume. He told me, as soon as his boy put on the costume, he believed he was Spiderman. He was so convinced that, when he threw himself down the stairs, he thought that a spider web would shoot from his wrists, allowing him to swing from the ceiling and land safely at the bottom of the stair. Fortunately, the boy was okay, just got winded. The moral of that story is don’t get carried away and keep your feet on the ground. We all know some actors have pushed it that little bit too far.

What are your top 3 tips for actors that are starting?

  1. Try to get into the best drama schools.
  2. Always pay the extra bit of money to get a professional photographer to do your headshots.
  3. Most important, start up your own business so that you can get a regular income. If you are the boss, you can take control and always take roles when offered to you.

What has been inspiring you lately?

Other people within the industry. Within every actor, musician or film production crew member, you will find an aspiration for excellence. I feed off of this culture, there are not many careers that inspire such passion, and I am so happy to be playing my modest part.

What movie would you recommend watching and why?

The answer to that question will change every day. Today is a lazy and fun day so, I will say — The Muppets (2011). Sometimes you need to take a couple of steps backwards or sideways, in the case of the Muppets. I have always been enchanted with anything absurd or nonsensical, so I bless the day Jim Henson was born and morn the day he died. I think James Bobin (director) manages to keep Jim Henson’s message alive and kicking with this film. Throughout the storyline, there are messages of compassion, humanitarianism, optimism, companionship and faith in menkind or Muppet-kind (sorry couldn’t think of another word for it). All of this and plenty of zany correctors to take you to a place where you can just kick back and laugh at ridiculous jokes “fart shoes, come on!!! Let’s not take life too seriously”.

What is one message you would give to your fans?

Go Vegan.

How can our readers find you online?

IMDB: https://www.imdb.com/name/nm5801600/
Spotlight: https://www.spotlight.com/3571-9053-8536
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/danny.jackson.12935/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/Valiohm

--

--