Rising Star Scott Swope: “I actively research the character or character types I’m playing so that I can effectively become that person.”

Castle of Truth
Castle Of Truth
Published in
7 min readOct 16, 2020

Born in Baltimore Maryland, Scott Swope is an American Actor, former Strength and Conditioning Coach for the University of Maryland and Analyst for the Department of Defense. Scott played college football at Washington and Lee University where he played quarterback. After college, he was invited to several free-agent NFL football camps and played semi-professional football for several years. After encouragement from an actor friend, Scott began his second career in acting. He has been cast in over 80 roles for TV, movies and commercials. Scott has been on many true-crime series, to include For My Man, Gone, Copycat Killers and What Really Happened. He also appeared on several episodes of House of Cards and VEEP and is known for Wonder Woman 1984 (2020), Mount Hideaway (2017) and the Night Watchmen (2017) Scott is currently featured on MTV’s Revenge Prank with Pauly D and Vinny in Ep1.4 as a co-lead Russian mobster, Boris and in Ep1.9 as the lead role of Grizzly.

Thank you so much for interviewing with us! Can you share your story on how did you get started in the film industry?

I was at my gym and saw one of my former players working out. I have known him all his life as I played football with his dad against each other in high school. I asked him what he was doing, and he said he was an actor. Earlier in my life, I had several opportunities to be in a couple of movies, but it didn’t work out. I was cast to play the role of Johnny Unitas, famous NFL QB, in the movie ‘Diner’, but it was decided later to use the original game footage. I was also cast to be a coach in the movie, ‘The Replacements’ but due to coaching obligations was unable to commit. I told him that I would love to get into acting, and he suggested few sites to look at, and it has snowballed since.

Who are you grateful towards your success and can you share a story about that?

Eric Brooks — the actor who got me started. He gave me some great advice and has always been there when I’ve needed to ask questions. We now look out for each other when we see casting calls. One of the casting directors who has always looked out for me is Thea Washington. I worked for her several times in the past, so she now contacts me whenever she needs me to fill a role for a project.

Can you share the most interesting story that happened to you since you began your career?

I went to a general background casting call for Wonder Woman 1984 and didn’t hear anything back for a month or so. I honestly thought they had selected everyone, so I wasn’t expecting a call. A week before I was scheduled to go on vacation with my family, I received a call from the main casting director for the movie. He told me that the director Patty Jenkins saw my photos and wanted to cast me as a “Muscleman” for the movie! And the shoot was happening during the time I was with my family. I said I wasn’t sure if I could make it and he then told me “You were personally selected by the director of a major motion picture and it would probably not be good for your acting career if you turned this down!” I asked if I could call him back and talked to my family. They all agreed and told me “you’re a fool if you don’t accept it”! I immediately called him right back and accepted the part!

What has been the biggest challenge in your career so far? How did you overcome it?

Living on the East Coast, combined with not having an agent as of yet, makes getting “bigger” roles more difficult. I am on several casting sites, which I check every day. Currently, with Covid-19, a lot of casting calls from New York and Atlanta are only accepting local hires. I am hoping that things will get back to normal soon so I can start putting in for projects in those cities as well as Los Angeles. I am SAG eligible, but I am planning on joining SAG/AFTRA very soon. Hopefully, this will put me in a position to get an agent and bigger roles in the near future.

What are your ‘‘5 things I do to prepare for the role” and are you able to share a story or example for each?

  1. Study characteristics. I have played law enforcement many times, so I have studied how they do their job, whether it’s a detective or police officer or SWAT team member. My nephew is a State Police officer, so I have asked him all kinds of questions about procedures and policies police officers follow. One of my workout partners is a DC detective, and I also talk with him on how he goes about questioning suspects and investigating his cases.
  2. Practise. I have also taken weapons training classes and am familiar with SWAT tactics.
  3. Immerse in character. When I was cast to play a Russian mobster on MTV’s Revenge Prank, I studied Russian using an app and taught myself to speak several lines in Russian. When on set, I would only speak in a Russian accent. At one point, the casting director told me the whole crew thought I was Russian!
  4. Keep up. I am usually typecasted as a “heavy”, so I am at the gym every day for three or more hours lifting weights and staying in shape. However, being an avid weight lifter and former bodybuilder, staying in shape and focusing on my diet comes easily.
  5. More practise.

What methods or techniques do you use to find truth in your character’s behaviour?

I actively research the character or character types I’m playing so that I can effectively become that person. I also research any background of the character. In multiple instances, I have played real-life characters in true crime stories. I have researched the cases to allow for an accurate portrayal. Besides, I am constantly watching movies and TV shows to study successful actors to observe their portrayals.

What are your top 3 tips for actors that are starting out?

1. Be patient, you may only get one role out of 20 you put in for, but don’t give up! It’s hard I know…trust me. But when you do get that role no matter if it’s a small or large role, and if you have lines, try to do your best memorizing them, so you are ready to go.

2. Be respectful to all the cast, crew, directors, producers, etc.

3. Take directions well and do what you’re told. A simple “yes sir” or “thank you” goes a long way in building relationships that will go a long way in helping your career grow. Finally, have fun and enjoy the excitement of being in front of the camera!

What has been inspiring you lately?

I would have to say my son who is a nurse, and all the other people who are on the front line trying to keep us safe and well from this pandemic, giving selflessly of themselves without much in return. They are the true heroes.

What movie would you recommend watching and why?

‘Open Range’(Touchstone Pictures, dir. Kevin Costner, 2003) is a movie I can always watch. I’m a big fan of old school westerns. This movie does an excellent job of giving a modern take on the classic western. Robert Duvall, Kevin Costner, Annette Bening and Michael Gambon are amazing in their roles.

What is one message you would give to your fans?

As of right now, I would say my “fans” are my family and friends who have, and are still, supporting me to reach my dream of becoming a successful and well-known actor. To those people, I would say thank you so very much for pulling for me and encouraging me throughout this journey. Hopefully, for my “future” fans, I would hope to be someone they could look up to and respect for the experiences in my life which have brought me to this moment.

How can our readers find you online?

IMDB: https://www.imdb.com/name/nm7077604/
Insta: https://www.instagram.com/ksswope521/

--

--