Rising Star Stephanie Silver: “Interesting things happen in the least expected way. And when you least expect them to come up!”

Castle of Truth
Castle Of Truth
Published in
4 min readApr 28, 2020

We had the distinct pleasure of interviewing Stephanie Silver.

Stephanie Silver is a working-class actress, writer and theatre-maker from London. Stephanie has won open script submissions for her writing as well as nominations for fringe awards such as the International Youth arts festival for “Our Big Love Story” in 2018 and The SIT UP Awards for “How To Save a Life” in 2019. “How to Save a Life” went to Edinburgh Festival 2019 and transferred to London For Soho Rising at Soho Theatre and Theatre 503. Stephanie was also part of the New Criterion Showcase 2019.

Thank you so much for interviewing with us! Can you share your story on how did you get started in the film industry?

I mostly do stage but have written and produced two of my short films. I definitely have a lot more to learn about film which I am eager to do. I collaborate with my friend Gemma who is a filmmaker and creative and we aim to bring several shorts and a feature to life shortly !

Who are you grateful towards your success and can you share a story about that?

I think I am grateful to the first acting classes I did as an adult at WAP run by Anna Jordan. I hadn’t acted in years and turned up to a workshop with some brilliant actors, felt totally shite and out of my depth but she was supportive and it made me feel more confident to think I could pursue acting as a thing.

Can you share the most interesting story that happened to you since you began your career?

God, I wish more interesting things had happened lol! I think interesting things happen in the least expected way. And when you least expect them to come up! My first play The Monologues of a tired nurse has been getting a lot of interest recently, 4 years after! I’ve had people from Canada, Germany and England asking for a copy of the script which I have sold for a donation price. That’s fun as it’s nice for plays that are so important to you to still have relevance.

What has been the biggest challenge in your career so far? How did you overcome it?

Becoming an actor, I would say money. Money to keep at it and to keep producing work. I’m not sure I’ve overcome that hurdle but I just work harder and work more.

What are your ‘‘5 things I do to prepare for the role” and are you able to share a story or example for each?

5 things! I’m not sure I do that many ! I always read the script a few times. I go through it and write facts about the character and other things people say about the character to give me an idea of their perception of self, others’ perception and the base facts. This always helps me loads. I don’t tend to unit scripts or action unless I’m stuck, I go through and write objectives for my characters at the top of the page and make sure I’m aware of my overriding objective for the whole play/film.

What methods or techniques do you use to find truth in your character’s behaviour?

I enjoy applying the Meisner technique to text in rehearsals to connect some emotional dept. I always do a soundtrack for my character too.

What are your top 3 tips for actors that are starting out?

  1. Keep enthusiastic.
  2. Do one thing a day.
  3. Have a hobby that isn’t acting.

What has been inspiring you lately?

Good question, I watched “Pure”(Drama Republic, dir. Aneil Karia & Alicia MacDonald, 2019) on Netflix and I was like this is good writing and acting! It has brilliant characters that you just care about and they were flawed, beautiful and tragic!

What movie would you recommend watching and why?

I watched “Bad Times at the El Royale”(Goddard Textiles, dir.Drew Goddard, 2018) in a flight last year and that film was cracking! It had a bit of everything, it had good characters, a good arc to the narrative, some badass singing and twists. A definite must-see!

What is one message you would give to your fans?

Who, my mum?😂Keep at it, chin up!

How can our readers find you online?

They can find me on:

Insta: https://www.instagram.com/steffieegg12/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/steffieegg12
My company https://twitter.com/GHalfFTheatre

Thank you very much for your time and honesty! Wishing you all the best for your success!

--

--