Rising Star Wassim Hawat: “Be confident. Take risks in your choices. Be disciplined. ”

Castle of Truth
Castle Of Truth
Published in
9 min readApr 4, 2021

We had the distinct pleasure of interviewing Wassim Hawat.
Wassim Hawat
is a TV, Film and Theatre Actor/Producer/Stunt/Martial Artist/VO. A versatile and diverse actor who is trained in the Meisner and Method acting techniques. He is known for Gods of Egypt (2016), Truth (2015), Deadly Women (2017), Pulse (2017).

Thank you so much for interviewing with us! Can you share your story on how did you get started in the film industry?

I did a lot of acting when I was a little kid. I had a great experience doing theatre, singing and musicals, it was fun, but I never thought of it as a career. I got great parents, and they wished for a more traditional path for me. So I went to university to become an engineer. I am one of those who have very high energy, and when I get excited, I put 110%. And when I was at uni, I realised that something was wrong, that I am not in a discipline that I am excited about. I have always been obsessed with watching movies, and I thought — I could do that, I could be in it. I felt like I hit a trigger in my life, turned 30, was very unhappy, was made redundant from a job and had nothing. So I decided to study acting, and I have not looked back. I never went to drama school, but I went to acting college courses and workshops, and then I got an agent and chased it. I don’t regret it, maybe I should have pushed since childhood, but now that I am doing it, my parents are supportive.

Who are you grateful for your success and can you share a story about that?

I have an excellent acting coach; she is incredible. When I have big auditions, I go straight to her. I have inspiring friends in the industry. One of them is a film director, so he comes to me, and we do preparations together. I am grateful for my actor friends, as we help each other. And also for my parents as they are very encouraging too.

Can you share the most interesting story that happened to you since you began your career?

I have never been a nervous guy, always confident. But acting is a different animal! I didn’t realise how intimidating it was. I faced it in acting school. I remember doing my very first scene in the camera class. I was so invested and excited, and I knew my lines well. However, when my scene partner came up and said her lines, and I just went blank. I was apologising and did it again. I was shaking, and they advised me to “just relax”. And I was “I am relaxed! That’s the problem!” Students thought that I was a wreck, they were laughing at me. And even though I stayed up all night learning the lines, I spit them out like a stiff stick with no acting at all. That’s when I doubted if acting is really for me. It was incredible how intimidating the camera was as I was all in my head! Looking back, I made so many mistakes while learning, but it taught me how to be free.

What has been the biggest challenge in your career so far? How did you overcome it?

I faced a lot of challenges, to be honest. Everything in my life before acting was me selling product, and in acting, I was the product, and I was not confident in myself doing it. I am a perfectionist, I am an engineer, so I was trying to figure out where the problem was. I realise now, that to be an actor, you need to have thick skin, as so many rejections, fears, so many things to go through. I questioned my own identity. I had no idea how to approach character, did not know what I was doing. But I did a lot of research and got help from many acting teachers until I realised the basics and started to have fun with it.

My next big challenge was finding an acting agent. After acting school, I was naive. I did not know what industry was like! I got rejected by almost every agent in Sydney. I did not know what was missing. I showed some filmed scenes from school to agents, but all I heard was “no”. My looks are not what they are looking for, my talent not needed for the market, and there is not much I could do. And I took it personally a lot. Now I laugh at rejections, but back then, I was very vulnerable. I was keen, and I could not even get an agent! Then I got an extra agent as I had no choice, and I decided to start at rock bottom and work my way up. When I did extra work, it was massive eye-opening. I was on TV and commercials, and I observed the way directors work, how they block the scene, etc. I did that for about a year. I had so much energy to offer, so I decided to get a better showreel. I consulted with my acting coach, started experimenting with my strengths, made a decent showreel, went again through agents, again a lot of rejections until I got a little better agent. My standards were so low that I was happy having one line in the scene. I just wanted to be featured as a step-up. I felt I was ready. I started popping up on TV and commercials in non-speaking featured roles, and surprisingly my friends and family started to notice. I was getting attention from a few seconds of being on TV, I started enjoying that, but I was still unfulfilled. I wanted to open another door for more credits, yet I had no idea how to get cast. I had no idea how to show myself. So I kept working on the craft, did a lot of workshops about what agents and casting directors are looking for, practised a lot at home. My focus was to get a better agent. I wanted to be amazing to be noticed. I found auditions intimidating, so I ventured to master them. After building some credits, I targeted a high profile acting agent. I was fearless to approach as, by this time, I was used to “no”. I emailed them, called them up, kept asking for a meeting because I believed in them. And they finally agreed to meet me! I auditioned with a prepared monologue, showed my energy, and they took me on board. I was over the moon! One of the best days of my life! I started getting auditions and roles, even did a few episodes in a very popular show in Australia, some guest roles, commercials. I also did a lot of theatre shows, and that constant rehearsing helped me overcome my nerves. I haven’t done theatre in a while now as my strengths are in film.

How do you prepare for the role?

I learn the lines first without acting — again and again — until they are really in there. And only then I can play and start experimenting with my character. I find it that I need to be free and, I cannot do it while holding a paper, too much going on. Secondly, I want to know the feel and voice of the character. I find blocking very important. I always try to experiment with what this character feels in this scene. I like to suggest different ideas to the director and they usually like that. I am always very prepared, versatile and resourceful. I strive to bring strong offerings, especially in auditions. There is a lot of competition, so I think what can I do to overtake these people. I anticipate how they will play the character, and I try to do the opposite. I want to get the job, and it took me a while to develop that. I self-tape a lot these days, and I have fun with it. I played it safe for a long time, but now even if I don’t get the role, I get good feedback. I keep thinking about what can I do better than others, constantly challenging myself, always making a decision that others don’t. I take risks. Sometimes it’s a tough character, and I assume they will play angry and tense, so I play opposite. So it is interesting, and it’s not always what the casting directors are looking for, and it fails, but it’s the risk I’m willing to take. The good thing about self-tapes is that you can select your takes. And I always try to do about three different, and it takes a while, but I like to explore deep and develop, so I send options. I choose actions analysing line by line. I am very competitive, and I’m trying to do an amazing job to get that callback.

What methods or techniques do you use to find truth in your character’s behaviour?

Well, I trained in Meisner and Method and to be honest, it depends. I have developed my own technique, I do not know how to explain it. I watch a lot of actor interviews. As an actor, you find your way to find the truth, you have like a bag of tricks that you select for each specifically.

What are your top 3 tips for actors that are starting?

Well, when I reflect on myself…

  1. Be confident. That’s a big one.
  2. Take risks in your choices. If you play safe, you will not get anywhere in this industry.
  3. Be disciplined. Strive forward even after numerous rejections. Keep going to the next step and then the next, and the next. I always keep thinking how can I do to lift my profile more. You have to keep climbing and not sit in one place.

What has been inspiring you lately?

I have a production company with my cinematographer friend and taking to the next level producing our work. I am looking at the bigger picture, having the freedom, developing a film story and playing lead characters. I do not want to leave my destiny waiting for a phone call. We did a short film (in post-production), and now I wrote a synopsis for a feature. It is so exciting! I am so happy with that. I know the kind of stories I want to tell, and I am very grateful that my friend’s mind is in sync. I am very fortunate to have such a person in this industry.

What movie would you recommend watching and why?

I love psychological thrillers because my brain is very stimulated when I’m watching them. I am fascinated by the journeys of the characters. I will mention movies that inspired me to make my psychological thriller. I love Shutter Island (2010), it has so many twists and turns in the story! The Girl on The Train (2016), Se7ev (1995), Gone Baby Gone (2007), The Uninvited (2009), The Machinist (2004), The Others (2001). I also watch Korean thrillers; they are incredible such as Oldboy (2003), A Tale of Two Sisters (2003), Mother (2009). These movies tickle my fantasy, I get excited about characters, makes me watch constantly asking and guessing.

What is one message you would give to your fans?

If you strongly believe that you can do it, have that mindset. That belief will keep you moving forward. I know a lot of people heard that before, but it is the truth. You will have all these obstacles trying to stop you, but it’s like you have a hammer and going through walls, and there’s another wall and another. I did not realise how strong the word belief is! It allows you to do ridiculous things.

How can our readers find you online?

IMDB: https://www.imdb.com/name/nm6618547/
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Wassim-Hawat-International-707571942666540/
Insta: https://www.instagram.com/wassim_hawat_international
Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC4XmOi5JBhlOd1HdbmrtZyw

--

--