Starting the casual inference blog

Mihail Yanchev
Casual Inference
Published in
2 min readJul 4, 2018
Photo by Joanna Kosinska on Unsplash

Working for about 6–7 years in both the public and private sector in the fields of macroeconomics, risk modelling and data science, I realized there are quite a few tricks I learnt from mentors, ex-colleagues or in the process of doing things. Since I read a lot of other peoples’ blogs and I turn to other sources of knowledge like stackoverflow when I am myself stuck on a task, I decided it is time for me to share some of my own tricks and ideas that I have not seen explained anywhere else. I will strive for most of my posts to be on the practical side of things, but I will inevitably touch upon numerous theoretical concepts. I can do my best to point to the best explanations of those in order to achieve maximum clarity. In my posts I will include practical implementations in R or Python, but bear in mind I am by no means a super expert in any of those. Therefore, as the title suggests this blog should mostly be a casual source of knowledge on practical issues.

I hope you, the visitor, will find my posts helpful and will be willing to start a discussion, offer feedback or give an advice for an improvement.

Last, but not least I would like to add a little bit about myself. I have graduated with a bachelor’s degree in Economics from Adelphi University, NY and with a Master’s degree in Applied Macroeconomics from Fordham University, NY. I have worked for the central bank in Bulgaria and for the Bulgarian subsidiary of the Belgian KBC group. I have worked on various projects including research papers for the central bank and the ECB, macroeconomic analysis and forecasting, Basel and IFRS 9 credit risk modelling and more.

You can find links to my publications on researchgate or on linkedin.

--

--