react and three…

Demi Lee
casualcode
Published in
1 min readJan 17, 2018

I’m in the midst of creating my own website to showcase who I am and what I do. Initially, the framework I chose was Angular but due to the frustrations I’ve experienced with installing it, I’ve opted to use React. And boy, it’s been a pleasant experience so far!

In terms of how I envision this personal site of mine, ever since I’ve learned of WebGL and the popular Three.js library, I thought to myself “I am definitely going to use this for my own portfolio.” It would be incredible if I could make it a VR-friendly application too.

And here I am! I’ve so far created the Three.js component to encompass my 3D object-filled background as well a separate component to render the text. My goal is to give the user an immersive experience by traversing through the 3D space. Hopefully it will turn out to be exactly how I imagine it. It would be nice to have the chance to recreate it in Angular as soon as I get the installation up and running properly… Gonna consult my good dev friends for some direction.

Will update with screenshots of my progress as soon as I get a chance. Aiming to have this done by the end of the week.

--

--

Demi Lee
casualcode

full-stack developer | illustrator | casual gamer | foodie