TRAUMA | BRAIN SURGERY | THIS HAPPENED TO ME

A Game of Chess with Death

Under the surgery lights

Chrysa Stergiou
Catharsis Chronicles
7 min readJun 10, 2024

--

The alarm clock woke me up at 6:00 a.m. Rising, I headed to the bathroom for a shower before applying my makeup: light green eyeshadow, my preferred mascara, black eyeliner, and beloved lipstick. After combing my hair, I stepped outside. They were all there already: my mother, her blue eyes reddened with tears; my sister Mary, offering a strained smile; my sister Lena, visibly distressed; and my husband, who appeared to be taking it the hardest of all. Dad would not even consider it. He is too sensitive to handle this situation. He stayed at home waiting for that phone call….

-Good morning everyone, I said smiling.
-Why did you put on your makeup? my husband asked.
-Because I want to be pretty if that is the last time you see me, I said and laughed. Only I laughed. Everyone else’s eyes brimmed with tears.
-What’s the matter? Everything is going to be fine. There is nothing to worry about. Don’t cry. You know I hate it. I want you all to keep something from me so that you can return it when I am out, I said, starting to remove my jewelry.
-Mary take my earrings, Lena my bracelet, Mum my cross, and you, my love, take my wedding ring. When I am out, put them all back!!!

--

--

Chrysa Stergiou
Catharsis Chronicles

I am an early retired teacher with 27 years of experience. My profession gave me a sense of purpose and resiliency to overcome so many obstacles I had to face.