POETRY

Colliding Nuances

Failure or self-preservation

River's Writings
Catharsis Chronicles
2 min readMay 7, 2024

--

A woman with colorful hair and make-up looks ahead with her hand on her neck.
Dissociation. Photo by Bianca Salgado from Pexels

Standing on a podium of esoteric nuances
Performing the greatest spectacle
Ovations or polite condemnations
Blurred faces, dissociation

Losing touch with reality,
Reality, what’s that?
Anger rises to the surface,
Stealing the spotlight

Storms simmer under
Disguised behind the proper actor,
Under the smiles and laughter
Linger oceans of bottled-down emotions

An ample stage turned into a confinement of a different kind,
Caged, surreptitious marks behind the attire,
Tired of performing with apparent, non-existent desire

Caged animals can be dangerous,
Don’t you know that!?
Do not cross a line
I’m trapped inside my own prison
With bars assembled from my past,
Yet you’re advancing without consent,
I’ll fucking lash out

--

--

River's Writings
Catharsis Chronicles

I write poetry about mental health, trauma, relationships, and more. Writing is my journey of reclaiming my power and becoming the author of my life. 📖