CATHARSIS CHRONICLES | COMPETITION | TRAUMA

I Fell in Love with My Best Friend

And it ended with the beginning of a sixteen-year reign of terror

Mika Oka
Catharsis Chronicles
6 min readJun 7, 2024

--

He used to be my rock, the friend I confided in completely. Trustworthy and supportive, he made me feel safe.

Then life got busy for me. I had a demanding new job as an esthetician, on top of juggling a few part-time gigs.

The workplace was full of politics, with many people willing to butter someone else up for a promotion.

I wasn’t good at navigating office politics, and my blunt honesty often landed me in hot water with the superiors. I had to work extra hard for that promotion, so I poured all my energy into work, neglecting my friendships in the process.

By the time I reconnected with my old friend, I hadn’t seen him in years.

Everything felt natural, and soon we were a couple. We had been such good friends before, and I naively believed that will translate into a happily ever after relationship.

We were barely a month in when he popped the question, and before I knew it, I was living with him and his family.

I ignored all the warning signs. Within months, everything turned vicious.

Photo by Klara Kulikova on Unsplash

--

--

Mika Oka
Catharsis Chronicles

Sharing her unique perspective on the world as a hearing-impaired autistic person with bipolar disorder despite the challenges. emikaoka.wordpress.com/home/