Is the Problem Within Me?

Paras Ali
Catharsis Chronicles
3 min readMay 5, 2024

Raising awareness for Mental Health

(Share for the Contest )

Photo by Towfiqu barbhuiya on Unsplash

Why am I always digging the words?
From Excellent to Worst
As if they were just for satire,
Hidden purposes or some what dualistic
A meaning lacking clarity as if
Speaking of hidden vanity.
Puzzled to sort out their status
Implicit, explicit, or witty ?
Then the next moment a mute passed by
Lost, too nervous and so shy
Bend and bowed my heart cried:
Oh, dear human !! You can speak, listen
And say, what else do you want ?

I worried a lot on petty issues
My curls are unkempt
The tattered denim does not fit with
Those baggy loose tees
The glossy tints do not agree
With the chill struck chapped lips
And I began to hid myself behind
Luxury brands, to steal the eyes,
To reveal to the world my expensive vibe
Did all that make any sense to the wise?
Those artificial hooks, cosmetic layers
aren’t all hollow, soulless and bare?

From 9 to 5s, screens and screens held my
Eyes so tight, hunched in a bun
Stationed on a chair, when I turned like
A gummy bear, I cursed my stem cells
For not generating a single genius idea well
Little did I know, you reap what
you shall sow
In all those years not a mile had
I walked . No ripples of waterfall
Has touched my skin, not a single
Sunbeam has made my eyes wink
The burgers, pizzas and chocolates
Have filled my brain till the brim

For a healthy heart and a golden brain
I need to overthink less, take a
Deep rest amongst the wintry willows
Or the roofless cacti which never cry
To be born naked in deserts
I should not judge my own worth
And others conduct.

I must not categorise
Few coward , others arrogant and some nice
To be positive is to embrace and accept
Whatever comes unexpected on the
Way of life, learn to shun and reset
The hurt, the pain , the feeling of fear
By humongous love and self respect

Mental health is a serious issue but I believe every issue comes with a solution .

  • Keep a positive company
  • Instil healthy habits
  • Let go of the hurt ( though it is difficult but better move on 😇😇 )

Lastly ,

If you are a student or a book nerd , try to sit in a green environment . Adding tinge of greens to your study room can help you absorb the author’s stance better and reduce the reading stress .

(The library dipped in greens : image by the writer)

Best of Luck to all competitors . 🙌❤️

--

--