The One Landmark I’d Rather Not Have Encountered

Yet forever written in my story

Cecile Gerwel Proches
Catharsis Chronicles
2 min readJul 3, 2024

--

Graveyard
Photo by Pascal Bullan on Unsplash

With great detail and gestures,
you took time to explain,
whenever we found ourselves,
in unknown territory.

You would then seek out,
a signpost or monument,
and emphasize,
to remember that landmark.

Then alas the day came,
when I was to do the same.
A known yet unknown place,
passed by so many times.

After being asked,
Are you ready to go?”,
I ruminated over my response,
as we followed the hearse.

Familiar wrecked,
as the tornado ripped through,
taking down what stood for so long,
seemingly so deeply anchored.

We battled to get through,
struck by death’s heavy hand.
Roads blocked and at a standstill.
Such scenes eventually self-organize.

Visible turmoil felt,
with the living in despair.
Trying to pick up the pieces,
hesitant to depart.

Those still to bid farewell,
and find their way,
so badly not wanting,
to go down that road.

Dreaded journey,
etched in sorrow.
Grey skies depicted,
dark and tragic scenes.

Rivers furiously built up,
from beneath the surface,
threatening to wash away,
efforts to maintain composure.

I struggled to absorb it all,
and walk the uncertain path.
Straight on and a turn to the left,
and there was the monument.

The one landmark,
I’d rather not have encountered.
The type you may see in Europe,
immortalized by masses of tourists.

This landmark distinct to me,
will remain uncaptured,
and continue unscripted,
yet forever written in my story.

--

--

Cecile Gerwel Proches
Catharsis Chronicles

Social scientist, 'geriatric millennial', inspired by nature, poetry