Antidote

Meg
Catharsis
Published in
Aug 13, 2020
Photo by Jan Kopřiva on Unsplash

Poison coursing through my veins
years of hating my reflection
trauma made itself at home
unpacking became burdensome
leaving it untouched

Venom took hold in the form of beliefs
“you’re not good enough”
on repeat
chronic sickness and pain washing over me
bathing in defeat

Shattered glass reflects
shadow self
one you can’t unsee

Searching for the light to guide me
seek and you shall find
pulling back the curtains within my mind,
skeletons appear..
haunting

Taking inventory on facades
masks relinquished
tending to the inner garden
first time smelling the flowers
infusing gold in all the cracks and edges
scattered throughout
debris from the storms, collected and set aside
transforming chaos into beauty
one word at at time

Death disclosed itself in the process,
no mourning was needed
internal peace within as this was the
death of who I used to be.

--

--

Meg
Catharsis

Write about emotions + universal human experience ❣️