MICROPOETRY

Doubt Destroyed Hope

An elfchen poem

Arundhati
Catharsis
Published in
1 min readAug 2, 2020

--

doubt
destroyed hope
of new beginnings
trust lost to suspicion
tragic.

I was recently introduced to the “Elfchen” poetry form while searching for poetry prompts online. It is basically a short poem consisting of exactly 11 words in a specific format of words per line. This is the structure of a typical “Elfchen” according to wikipedia :
Row 1: one word (A thought, an object, a color, a smell or the like)
Row 2: two words (What does the word from the first row do?)
Row3: three words (Where or how is the word of row 1)
Row 4: four words (What do you mean?)
Row 5: one word. (What results from all this? What is the outcome?)

I really enjoy writing these short poems, especially when going through a writer’s block. I hope you enjoyed reading this as well. You might also like :

--

--

Arundhati
Catharsis

I write because i’m aware of the power words have. I use mine to tell stories, occasionally rant on social issues and turn my life and self into poetry.