My Friend, My Poetry

Are you still there, my friend?

Navya Gupta
Catharsis
1 min readSep 27, 2020

--

Photo Credits – by Álvaro Serrano on Unsplash.com

Are you still there, friend?
It has been so long
Look me in the eye
Tell me – did I do something wrong?

Are you there, my friend?
Or are you playing peekaboo
With me?
Will you let me win
So you and I can meet?

I miss you, I do
But here’s my tragedy –
I can’t even express
My longing for you
Without you

For I need you to tell you
That I need you
I need you to ask you to stay
People leave, goals fall apart
But I thought you’d never walk away
I thought you’d seek me
When I’d come to find you
I thought you’d pour like monsoon rains
When I’d lament in pain

You’re not just words or poetry
You’re my ecstasy
Which happens to run on my misery
You’re my breath
Which comes alive when
I can’t breathe
My friend, my love, my poetry
Oh, come back!
My soul, my life, my therapy.

©️ Navya Gupta 2020. All Rights Reserved.

--

--

Navya Gupta
Catharsis

I am a 100-year-old soul stuck in the body of a 20-something… Connect with me on Instagram - unwor_d