FREE VERSE

Probably This Is Why!

About that tree, whose seeds grandfather had sown…

Somsubhra Banerjee
Catharsis
Published in
1 min readAug 10, 2020

--

I remember I remember being pissed off,
when grandad planted this seed, the seed of a giant tree,
pissed off with the fact that I had to carry loads,
loads of water in buckets, and protect it from animals, wild,
I wondered why, why did he dedicate so much,
so much of his time in this, a tree, what could it probably do.

but, now, now as I sit in its leafy shadow, and,
in the tremendously hot summer, a gentle breeze,
touching those leaves caress my face and children,
play around, colorful birds chirping, colorful insects moving,
the area transforming into a garden of activity,

I wonder again, probably this is why!

Thanks a lot, Navya, for sheltering so many of my stuff!

--

--

Somsubhra Banerjee
Catharsis

A heart that finds solace in mountains, the whispers of old buildings, silences, books, poetry and football.