The Villain

Poetry

Navya Gupta
Catharsis
1 min readAug 26, 2020

--

Angels were witness to
my clandestine stares
cupids joined hands and
prayed for you to care
with you, my heart
jumped with joy
my smile, full of colours
even the rainbows enjoyed

i was the lover of your story
a hopeless romantic
with too many hopes
you were the hero of mine
you saved me from falling…
in love with you

i thought you were the one
i kept looking for you
but you told me you did not
have the second pair of my
Cinderella shoes

somewhere between your honesty
and your attempt to rescue me
you confessed BUT
we were not ready for
what happened next…
saving me from the fall
you involuntarily fell…
in love with me

but i’m all guarded now
you ask if it’s too late
your eyes full of hope
your sanity, eloped
i just sigh with my
head bowed down
my heart says yes
but my mind pulls me
to the ground

never knew this would be
our happy ending
where you did save me
from the fall but
ended up becoming
my lover after all
and me? i wish
in your story, i was now
your no one but alas!
never knew i’d be
the villain.

--

--

Navya Gupta
Catharsis

I am a 100-year-old soul stuck in the body of a 20-something… Connect with me on Instagram - unwor_d