To Taste The Boundless Freedom

A journey to the mountain top

Arundhati
Catharsis

--

Photo by Ashwin Raj on Unsplash

I shall not stop if i have gashes on my sole,
if i run out of breath in between the stops,
if i dry my throat and sweat through my coat.

for a tired body never wins against
a mind that craves euphoria and
a heart that’s doomed to lose
control.

I shall only stop when i reach the top,
when i stand next to the clouds i dream of,
when the golden sun slaps my freezing face.

only then will i conquer the huge mountain,
with an even bigger resolve, and taste the
freedom that is boundless and certain.

only then shall I stop,
only then shall I sleep.

This poem is in response to James G Brennan ‘s prompt word — ‘Huge.’ Thank you for tagging me in your brilliant poem, ‘Bodhi Fig Tree.’ You can check it out here:

--

--

Arundhati
Catharsis

I write because i’m aware of the power words have. I use mine to tell stories, rant on issues that bother me and turn my life and self into poetry.