An Advent Tradition for the Liturgical New Year

Catholic Gators
Catholic Gators
Published in
2 min readDec 2, 2019

By Brianna Malagon, UF student

Advent is a season of preparation for the coming of Jesus. For me, Advent signifies a time in which my family and I prepare our hearts, like the nativity scene, for the birth of Jesus into our lives.

As a Colombian American, my family and I continue to follow certain traditions here in the United States. A Colombian tradition we continue is the Novena of Aguinaldos in preparation for Christmas, following the nine-month pregnancy of the Virgin Mary and Saint Joseph. Typically, a novena is a set of prayers recited over a nine-day period. The key difference of the Novena of Aguinaldos relative to any other novena is that it is a celebration and almost deserving to be its own holiday. One thing to note about Colombians is that they can turn almost anything into a party.

This novena signifies a time in which families gather to celebrate the nine days leading up to Christmas with prayers, food, and music. Typically, the head of the household recites the prayers, someone leads the “villancicos” Christmas carols, and the children follow along by playing instruments such as tambourines and maracas. The significance of the Novena of Aguinaldos is that it is a time to rejoice in the coming of Jesus, our Lord and savior.

As a child, I would get caught up in the fun of the novena and the anticipation of unwrapping my gifts on Christmas Eve that I would forget about the true meaning of Advent. As I have grown, not only in age but in faith, I’m excited to fully live out this Advent season. My heart rejoices as the start of Advent approaches, as it is the time the Holy Spirit prepares my heart for the birth of Jesus in deepening my relationship with Him, Mary, and Joseph. As Advent approaches, I invite you all to reflect upon your faith and relationship with Jesus so you too can prepare your hearts to receive him. Never forget Jesus is the reason for the season, and as cliché as it may sound, it is completely true. HAPPY ADVENT!

If you are interested in writing for our blog, please contact rhc@catholicgators.org for more information, or visit this link to learn how to set up an account and become a writer on our site to draft your post.

--

--