More Than Just the Music Saint — St. Cecilia

Catholic Gators
Catholic Gators
Published in
3 min readNov 21, 2019

By Renee Poskitt, RHC video director and UF student

When I was about to be confirmed into the Catholic Church, I was told that I had to choose a patron saint. I was given a book of names and I knew that the patron saint of music was to be my first choice. At this time, I was cantering in church, taking singing lessons, and singing in a community choir, so it was really a perfect fit. When I saw St. Cecilia, I picked her without hesitation, but I did not know how beautiful her story is and how it would make her a role model in my life.

St. Cecilia was born in the second century into a wealthy family. She was to be given in marriage to a man named Valerian even though she wanted to remain a virgin. As the wedding was approaching, St. Cecilia wore sackcloth, fasted, and prayed fervently to the angels and saints asking them to protect her. During her wedding, she heard heavenly music in her heart and on her wedding night, an angel was protecting her virginity. When she told her husband of her vow, he did not believe her. In order to see the angel, St. Cecilia told him he had to be baptized and when he returned, he arrived to see an angel next to his wife’s side. From that day on, Valerian and eventually his brother Tibertius devoted their lives to burying the Saints who were martyred. Valerian and Tibertius were eventually executed for their faith and Cecilia was sentenced to be suffocated in the baths. As the heat rose, St. Cecilia was shut in night and day, but did not even manage to break a sweat. She was then condemned to be decapitated, but after three blows, St. Cecilia was still alive and left to bleed to death for three days. In her last moments, crowds came to hear her words and collect her blood until she passed on the third day.

I remember when I first read her story and how honored I was that St. Cecilia was praying for me for the rest of my life. I was also shocked at how many people have her as their patron saint, but do not know the true beauty of her story. She is not only the patron saint of music, but an example of trusting in the Lord’s plan and being fearless even in the face of death. By her example, she was able to convert others and introduce them to God, her first love. She reminds me that we should always be examples of our faith for others. When I sing, I remember her story, and I know she is there for me, helping me to praise God through my voice. She helps remind me that my gift is not my own and that it is the Holy Spirit working through me always helping me to bring others closer to God in worship. It is almost as if when I sing His praises that it is not me singing for sometimes a power and sound comes out that was not there before. Her story also shows that God’s love really has no bounds and that he desires to protect His sheep. St. Cecilia knew that God would protect her and trusted in His plan. This helps me immensely when I go through hard times for I know the Lord desires to be with me in my suffering and will protect me in the darkest times of my life. If you are a musician or singer and do not know St. Cecilia, I highly recommend getting to know her. She will help give you a confidence while you are performing that you have never experienced before and will show you how to move out of the way to let the Lord do His work. St. Cecilia, pray for us!

This post is part of our ongoing Saints campaign series during November. If you are interested in writing for our blog, please contact rhc@catholicgators.org for more information, or visit this link to learn how to set up an account and become a writer on our site to draft your post.

--

--