St. Thérèse of Lisieux — The Beauty of Being Weak

Catholic Gators
Catholic Gators
Published in
3 min readOct 1, 2019

By Hannah Peters, UF student

“Do not let your weakness make you unhappy. When, in the morning, we feel no courage or strength for the practice of virtue, it is really a grace: it is the time to ‘lay the axe at the foot of the tree,’ relying on Jesus alone,” — St. Thérèse of Lisieux.

As we celebrate the feast day of St. Thérèse of Lisieux, we are reminded of our weaknesses and ultimately of God’s strength. St. Thérèse was a Carmelite nun who lived joyfully and virtuously until her death at the age of twenty-four. Recently, I have been reading her autobiography, The Story of a Soul, and I am amazed at the childlike faith she exhibited in every aspect of her life.

St. Thérèse said, “My little way is the way of spiritual childhood, the way of trust and absolute self-surrender.”

In my Bible study, we talked about childlike faith and total dependence on God. It is simple in theory but much harder to practice in our daily lives. How can we walk in St. Thérèse’s “little way” in a world where self-sufficiency is celebrated? Can we rely on Jesus alone for our joy, or must we continually seek happiness in earthly pleasures?

I am learning that true happiness is found in the presence of Jesus. St. Thérèse knew that her weaknesses brought her to Christ, and therefore, she was perfectly content with being weak and little. She also longed to bring praise to God through the little things and small surrenders in her life. This is the “little way,” a Heavenly way to which we are all called.

Our weaknesses should lead us to Jesus. As a first-year student here at the University of Florida, I am being made aware of my weaknesses daily. I’m learning that it’s impossible to love people, avoid negativity, or elude loneliness by my own power. At first, my weaknesses used to frighten me. Now, after reading about St. Thérèse of Lisieux, I am grateful for the weakness of my heart because it reminds me that I must rely on Jesus alone.

I used to wonder what will make me happy in this world. Perhaps it is the security of my future and a passion for my career. Perhaps it is the consolation of friendships and the knowledge that I am valued. Perhaps it is the feeling of independence and self-reliance. Or perhaps it is none of these things.

I am beginning to understand that God created me to love and to be perfectly loved by Him. My heart was made to rely on Him alone, not depending on earthly pleasures or personal achievements. By acknowledging my littleness and relying on Him, I am praising Him. Here is where I find my happiness.

My weaknesses do not keep me from Jesus. I am weak, but still Jesus comes to me. He comes to me because He loves me. This makes me want to praise Him wholeheartedly through all the little things in my life. I love to gaze upon the Lord at Mass, rejoice in the beauty of His creation as I walk to my classes, and speak to Him in prayer in the solitude of my dorm. St. Thérèse did every little thing in life out of love for Jesus, out of gratitude for His mercy. All of us can live in such a way.

If God can use even our weaknesses to strengthen us and bring us closer to Him, then what do we have to fear? We can live each moment of our lives in sweet freedom, overflowing with gratitude and praise, just as St. Thérèse did.

May we, like little children, always run to the safety of our Lord’s embrace, trusting that He will fill our empty hearts with His strength, love, and joy. St. Thérèse, pray for us!

If you are interested in writing for our blog, please contact rhc@catholicgators.org with an idea or draft of your post.

--

--