Student Spotlight: Joining a Bible Study

Catholic Gators
Catholic Gators
Published in
6 min readSep 27, 2021
Photo by Aaron Burden on Unsplash

One of the beautiful ways to get involved at Catholic Gators is to join a Bible study, where you can meet with other students and grow in your love for God’s Word and for one another! Whether you are currently in a Bible study or are not yet involved, we invite you to read the inspiring testimonies of two UF students, Paul and Katie, who share how their time in Bible study has led them closer to the Lord and to the Catholic Gators community.

Paul Charpentier

I joined my first Bible study in October of last year, 2020. When I transferred to UF in the fall of 2020, I was not interested in being involved in Catholic Gators. I wanted to grow in my faith on my own. I felt like no one had anything to contribute to my relationship with God. Although I was in a period where I was coming back to the Church after a long time not attending Mass on my own, I had many concerns and obstacles in my heart that would not allow me to fully call myself a Catholic. I decided to talk to a priest, to whom I began to ask a lot of questions. The priest and I soon realized that I had a hunger for a stronger relationship with God and I needed some guidance. He recommended that I join a Bible study so I could spend more time with Scripture. After some reflection, I realized that he was probably trying to bring me closer to the community.

The theme that they were discussing when I joined was the idea that all disciples are pregnant with Jesus, like Mary. Although it sounds crazy, it has been the most impactful study for me to this day. The Bible study was going over the reading of when Mary was pregnant with Jesus and then bringing Him in her womb to Elizabeth. My Bible study leader was trying to make a connection between disciples and Mary because we each carry Jesus in our hearts, like a womb, and bring Him to others. He made other connections about how a pregnant woman must surrender and fast from things that could hurt the baby. Similarly, as a disciple, we need to give up things in life that take us away from Christ and destroy the relationship we are carrying in our hearts.

Growing up, I attended a parish called Our Lady of Guadalupe in Miami, FL. The image of Mary has always been the sign of Jesus’s home, His resting place. Being in that Bible study felt like an invitation to be like Mary. It opened my eyes to why I had felt so empty during the time I was away from the Church. Like if I had harmed a baby in the womb. This was my turning point toward fostering a deeper relationship with God and learning little by little each day how to make Him the center of my day. I gave little by little of myself so that I could have more space in my heart to foster God’s presence and bring that to others like Mary did to Elizabeth.

In this Bible study, I made friendships with great men that proved my original assumption wrong. These men did have a significant contribution to my relationship with God. They also showed me how to get involved in Catholic Gators so I can then direct my newfound love for God toward serving His Church. I recommend joining a Bible study because if you give one hour of your free time to God a week, He’ll give you fruits worth an eternity of time back.

Katie Batteese

Basic instructions before leaving earth. Doesn’t that sound helpful? I am going to assume that a work, which provides these instructions, is not something you would quickly skim over, but something you would want to deeply study. The best part about this is that we all have access to this life-changing book, the Bible. The Bible, divinely inspired by the Holy Spirit to teach, assist, and guide us, is truly a gift from God. Containing 73 books and written by multiple authors, it is understandable that many would feel overwhelmed when first picking up a Bible. I know I was.

In elementary school, my priest gave a homily revolving around the Bible where he invited us to think of the word “Bible” as an acronym. He explained that this acronym stands for “basic instructions before leaving earth.” Today, as a freshman in college, this homily from years ago still remains close to my heart; in fact, as I took my first step to actively dive into God’s Word and truly study the Bible this semester, it was on my mind.

Candidly, I was nervous to involve myself in the Catholic Gators and especially in a Bible study. I had never participated in one before and was beginning to convince myself that on top of all the change going on in my life from the transition into college, the last thing I should do was put myself in yet another unfamiliar environment. After getting a text inviting me to join a Bible study, I procrastinated responding. I was nervous to make the commitment; I was nervous to be in a small group setting; I was nervous that I wasn’t knowledgeable enough about the Bible to join; I was nervous about not knowing anyone.

Today, three weeks into my first Bible study, I can barely begin to express my gratitude towards the Holy Spirit for pushing me to join the study and for the kindness of Beatriz, the leader of the study I am a part of, and all the other girls I have met through it. Being in an environment where I am surrounded, not only by like-minded people, but people who are helping me to deepen my faith and openly providing their perspective on Scripture has already had an impact on my faith. I have found myself praying more often, and I have begun to foster an even deeper love for Scripture. I find myself reading the Bible more often whether I am reading it on my phone on the bus or spending time in the chapel with a Bible after classes.

The fellowship and community I am experiencing and the friendships I am forming through this Bible study are invaluable. There is something beautiful about being able to talk to friends about God and the Holy Bible. For me, doing so has integrated my faith into many more aspects of my daily life, and I feel I am growing stronger in the gifts of the Holy Spirit that I received at my Confirmation. I am grateful to know that there is a group of girls who are willing to pray for me and pray with me. Further, hearing their perspective and what stands out to them in different Bible passages has been eye opening for me. Witnessing how the Lord speaks to people in so many different ways through the same passage has quite honestly made me think “woah.” It is simply beautiful to be a part of and has been so enriching for me. I know that it could be for you too.

I would like to end by quickly discussing a reservation I had about joining a Bible study that you may also have. I was unsure if a Bible study would just become another “class” added to my schedule with some unwanted work. As college students, we all spend numerous hours studying each day. We work to learn the material that will help us earn a good grade, further our career, and help us professionally. You may be exhausted from studying for classes, but studying the Bible will do anything but exhaust you. While I acknowledge the importance of doing well in school, I am first-hand learning that studying the Bible will prove to be more fruitful for me than any other studying I do here at UF. Please, do not let the word “study” in Bible study cause you to develop reservations about joining one. It is not work; it is forming a community to learn about God and deepen your knowledge and faith. Bible study has become something I look forward to each week. It is a perfect way to step outside of school work and to quiet your heart in order to really listen for God and grow in your knowledge of Him. It has honestly been the highlight of my week for the past couple weeks, and I am confident that it will continue to be so as the semester goes on. I implore you to please sign up, and if you have any questions, please feel free to reach out to me.

If you would like to join a Bible study, it is not too late! Please reach out to our FOCUS missionaries at nicholas.williams@focus.org to find out how you can get involved!

--

--