Be Like Jesus

Tuesday, Holy Week

Linda Whitworth
I AM Catholic
3 min readApr 12, 2022

--

Good Morning, dear reader. We are another step closer to the end of our story. It’s been a pleasure for me to bring you along.

This morning, we once again learn about being a humble servant to God. He has carefully crafted each and every one of us according to His purpose. We are reminded that the work we do for His glory is not in vain. My husband said basically this same thing to me when I complained that no one was following my blog. He said that God knew what I was doing and that is all that mattered, which is very true. This has been a labour of love and learning.

As we move on to our Gospel reading, we see that Jesus makes it known that He knows who the one is that will betray Him and also deny Him. I imagine this must’ve been quite heart breaking to Him. He had hand-picked these twelve men because of what He saw in them. These were His faithful ones. Once Judas was identified, he beat a hasty retreat rather than face Jesus.

Betrayal and denial are hard things to fathom. What would move a person to do that? In Judas’s case, it was greed. With Simon Peter, it was just a case of him wanting to save his own skin (by denying the fact that he was a follower of Jesus). Actions such as these say a lot about our character. It says we are not to be trusted and that we are not loyal to those who are important to us. It says that you think of yourself first. This is not how someone who revers and treasures their relationship with Jesus should act or have a reputation such as this. I imagine, though, that this must’ve been a poignant moment, as Jesus had been nothing but kind and loving to everyone, and yet His closest ones still turned on Him. However, Jesus being the kind and loving Person He was, He did not lash out at these two. He did not get angry. I think, because of this, Jesus decided to remind his disciples that we should treat others as He has treated us. We are to show mercy and forgiveness. It is in this way that we can be known as followers of Jesus.

When we are faced with troubling and difficult people, rather than acting in a similar manner, take a deep breath and think for a moment. You need to chose your battles carefully. Most are not worth getting upset over. Sometimes it’s easier to not say anything and just walk away. And, as I always remind you… be a nice human. 😇

Have a listen to Father Bill and his wise words to us:

If you’d like to check out the rest of my blogs and past posts, visit me at: https://ordinarylivesextraordinaryfaith.blogspot.com/

--

--

Linda Whitworth
I AM Catholic

New to blogging, but blessed to be able to do it! Remember... be a nice human! 😇 Follow my blog: https://ordinarylivesextraordinaryfaith.blogspot.com/