Bumper Sticker Religion

An Ineffective War of Slogans

Sara Park McLaughlin
I AM Catholic
3 min readApr 28, 2024

--

Photo by Gio Bartlett on Unsplash

“Born OK the first time” and “Darwin loves you” adorned the bumper of a car I saw in the clinic’s parking lot.

I snorted and snickered. These messages were funny, I admit. However, not being one to pass up an opportunity to engage in friendly debate, I decided to accept the challenge here.

There is no evidence that Darwin loves me.

Darwin certainly did not die for me. Jesus did, and we have eye-witness accounts of the empty tomb and multiple appearances of the Risen Lord. We have His teachings recorded and preserved for our benefit. He died for everyone who will ever live, including the owner of the bumper-stickered car. And He did it because His love knows no bounds.

And if someone is willing to die for me, I am more than willing to consider the veracity of what He taught. And He said we must be born again, of water and of the Spirit.

Jesus said, “Truly, truly, I say to you, unless one is born anew, he cannot see the kingdom of God” (John 3:3) and “Truly, truly, I say to you, unless one is born of water and the Spirit, he cannot enter the kingdom of God. That which is born of the flesh is flesh, and that which is born of the Spirit is spirit” (John 3:5–6).

Some of the bumper stickers that Christians slap on their cars probably don’t do Christianity any favors. In the past, I have seen “Honk, if you love Jesus,” and “In case of the Rapture, this car will be unmanned.” The first one strikes me as silly and pointless. The second is bad theology.

I guess bumper stickers that say “Jesus loves you” and “I heart Jesus” are harmless although I am not sure a car’s rear end is the most effective way to evangelize.

Here are a few more: “Do you follow Jesus this closely?” and “Try Jesus. If you don’t like him, Satan will take you back.”

And there are the ones that are parodies of advertising slogans, such as “Got Jesus?” and “Jesus: He’s the Real Thing.”

There is something offensive about trivializing Christianity. The believer stickers may be better than a truly obnoxious non-believer’s “Children have imaginary friends; adults have God,” but as far as I am concerned, all of these soundbites don’t accomplish much.

Ultimately, all religious and anti-religious bumper stickers come across as infantile attempts at one upmanship.

Frankly, I hope my driving and behavior reflect the kindness and loving demeanor worthy of identifying as a Catholic Christian.

And for those folks who post their beliefs on their bumpers, you have an extra added burden and responsibility to live up to the image you promote.

If you are a Christian, ask yourself the ever-popular trendy question: “What would Jesus do?”

Would he really participate in “my bumper sticker can outshout your bumper sticker” competition?

Honk once if your answer is “yes” and twice for “no.”

--

--

Sara Park McLaughlin
I AM Catholic

Former humor columnist, author of My Humor Writing Journal [Amazon] and retired university English teacher, love Catholicism, apologetics, C. S. Lewis.