5 Marian Chaplets

Lesser known chaplet prayers to refresh your devotion to Mary in her special month

kit_carmelite
I AM Catholic

--

Collection of chaplets
Photo taken by author

I was in my early teens when I felt drawn to attend Mass, with no idea why. I know now that Mary had a lot to do with it. The first church where I attended weekday Mass was Holy Rosary. I was intensely curious about the rosary. The internet didn’t exist in 1972, but a convent was near the library. I stood near the front door for about 20 minutes, hoping a nun would come out. When one did, I showed her a plastic rosary I’d been given years ago and asked her what I was supposed to do with it.

Little did I know then how many types of rosaries or “chaplets” there were. The Archdiocese of St. Louis offers a 46-page PDF document detailing more rosaries and chaplets than I imagined existed. The different configurations fascinate me. Some have smaller groups of beads (seven beads instead of ten in each group for the Seven Sorrows and others have more sets of beads (seven sets instead of five for the Franciscan Crown. These are well-known, so I decided to share chaplets I’d never heard of before.

1. Chaplet of Our Lady of Guadaloupe

The Chaplet of Guadalupe is a beautifully crafted prayer tool. It features a cross, 21 beads, and a medal. The design is intricate, with a single bead, a…

--

--

kit_carmelite
I AM Catholic

Married 25 years. Retired SAS programmer from Statistics Canada. Member of Secular Order of Discalced Carmelites since 2008. Love chess..