Linda Whitworth
I AM Catholic
Published in
2 min readMay 11, 2022

--

I haven’t posted anything in a few days. I have been struggling with my daily posts and trying to make sense of it all so you will all understand it. So, for the moment, I am taking a break from that. I’m going to keep writing, hopefully. Once in a while, a spark of an idea happens, when I least expect it. As I was washing the dishes tonight, this song came on and it got me thinking. So, here I am…

Better Than A Hallelujah”, by Amy Grant. If you’ve never heard the song before, take a moment now to listen to it. The words make so much sense. We find it so easy to cry Amen and Hallelujah when life is good and we feel God is near to us. But, what about the other times? What about the daily struggles? Or the overwhelming problems? Do you still praise Him? Do you cry out to Him for help? Or do you stubbornly dig your heels in and try to handle it yourself?

God wants us to come to Him for everything. Not just the major things. He wants us as we are, broken, defeated, at the end of our rope, or just tired at the end of the day. He doesn’t expect fancy words uttered in prayer. He sees the tears, the laughter, the pain, the happiness. To Him, those are the words of an unspoken prayer. That cry of “help me God” sounds like a choir of angels singing to Him. He’s sat back and watched as you tried to do it on your own. He’s waited patiently. Then, at that crucial moment, when you feel you just can’t do it anymore on your own, when you’ve exhausted all human possibilities, you give in and admit defeat. You throw your hands in the air and FINALLY allow God to take care of it. And God looks down “about time, My child”, with a smile on His face. Better than any praise or hymn or an amen. It’s simply, “it’s about time”.

--

--

Linda Whitworth
I AM Catholic

New to blogging, but blessed to be able to do it! Remember... be a nice human! 😇 Follow my blog: https://ordinarylivesextraordinaryfaith.blogspot.com/