A Silent Retreat

Felicity Dark
I AM Catholic
Published in
11 min readFeb 20, 2022

--

Contemplations of a Full Blown Woman

Healing is intense, and difficult to accomplish. I am not sure why, exactly, but I feel like I am on a fast-track to my own wholeness, and it is still taking longer than my impatient personality expected. It has been almost three years since my divorce (I just realized that today is exactly one week away from February 26th) and here I am visiting Glenwood Springs for the second time in my life.

The first time I came up here was five or six years ago in October. The drive was beautiful. Yellow aspen trees and bright blue skies stay vivid in my memory. Ricky was driving, so I got to look around and take it all in.

Driving myself up here was not so scenic.

Yesterday I worked an almost nine hour day. Paralegal work is challenging in ways, so at least it can keep me on my toes to some extent, but I have been doing it for a year now, so it’s starting to get easy and that makes it hard for me. I get terribly bored. Still, I love the people I work with and that motivates me to do a good job.

As you can imagine, after a full day of editing legal documents, gathering medical bills and records, and sending out boring letters, I was real excited to get out of there and head off to my silent weekend retreat in the hot springs. I was so excited in fact, that I forgot my purse.

--

--

Felicity Dark
I AM Catholic

Writing is healing and empowering. Do you enjoy my writing? Buy me a coffee and make me smile! ;) https://www.buymeacoffee.com/ourlady86Y