Opinion: Word On Fire Bible Review

EthanHester
I AM Catholic
Published in
3 min readMay 27, 2022

I’ve been on a couple of weeks’ vacation so I apologize for my lack of articles.

Today, I want to give my review for a product I have been using for a while now, which is the Word On Fire Bible Series.

I know some of you might be stunned that I would even read anything from the Word On Fire Publications. It’s true that a lot of what Bishop Barron says is questionable at best, but that doesn’t mean the works he publishes aren’t worth taking a look at.

I’ll divide my review into Pros and Cons and give my final take on the Product.

So first the Pros.

The Bible he sells is incredibly beautiful in quality and in page artwork. The pages are solid textbook-type pages with large text fonts, which is a dramatic upgrade from most mass-printed bibles which are usually tissue paper quality.

While the quality is superb, in my opinion, the real worth is the plethora of commentaries throughout the pages. You will be hard press to find a page in the Word On Fire Bible that doesn’t have a lesson from a Church Father or more modern commentaries from the likes of Venerable Fulton Sheen and GK Chesterton.

I find myself being able to read through 20 to 30 pages of scripture in one sitting, which was never the case with the smaller font and tissue page bibles I’ve had all my life.

So for the pros, it’s a really high-quality made bible with a lot of thought-provoking commentaries.

Now to the Cons.

The biggest con I have is the little sprinkling of modernism that seems to plague a lot of what Bishop Barron says.

While for the most part, the commentaries are good and Orthodox, sometimes Bishop Barron’s own commentaries subtly hint at modernist beliefs without saying it in the open.

The price might also be a barrier to a lot of people.

I purchased the entire New Testament Collection in Leather for around $120.

Mind you that the $120 price was actually a huge discount since I pre-ordered. Now, it would probably run you $200 for the whole collection in leather.

Conclusion:

At the end of the day, If you are able to critically read and you want an easy-to-read high-quality Bible then I would say get it, but if you want a strictly traditional bible then you are better off with the cheaper Ignatius Bible.

I encourage all of you to look past a lot of Bishop Barron’s questionable comments and take look at the collection of works at the Word On Fire. He republishes a lot of classic works with high-quality materials at a good price so I think that’s something we can all enjoy and benefit from.

Please let me know what you think and leave any article suggestions in the comments.

--

--