The Different Lists of Virtues and What Helps Us to Put Them Into Practice

Provided by Fr. Michael Casagram, OSCO

Michael Snellen
I AM Catholic


I and two monks discuss the virtues in this video:

The tradition of the Church lists twelve principal virtues: ‘charity, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, generosity, gentleness, faithfulness, modesty, self-control, chastity” (Galatians 5:22–23; CCC 1832).

There were formally enumerated differently by Pope Gregory I (the Great) in the 6th century and elaborated in the 13th century by St. Thomas Aquinas, only seven in all: (1) humility, (2) charity, (3) chastity, (4) gratitude, (5) temperance, (6) patience, and (7) diligence.

Then there are the so called theological virtues which are supernatural, meaning that they are above our nature. The virtues of faith, hope, and charity form the foundation of the Christian life because they bestow on us the capacity to live in a relationship with the Father, Son, and Holy Spirit.

Importance of the Virtue Program