The Stations of the Cross

by St. Alphonsus Liguori

Michael Snellen
I AM Catholic

--

Photo by Webdexter Apeldoorn from Pexels

Saint Alphonsus Ligouri lived in 18th-century Italy. He is known for many things, but perhaps his greatest contribution to the Catholic tradition came from his book “The Way of the Cross” which was written in 1761.

While detailing the last day of Jesus’ life before his crucifixion, Ligouri brought forth meditations on the fourteen stations of the Cross.

By meditating on Jesus’ last struggles, we grow closer to him. While these prayers are mostly meant to be done at a church, especially one with the paintings on the walls, they can be done from anywhere, just like how you can pray the rosary anywhere.

Stations of the Cross

Preparatory Prayer

(to be said kneeling before the altar)

“My Lord, Jesus Christ,

You have made this journey to die for me with unspeakable love

and I have so many times ungratefully abandoned You.

But now I love You with all my heart and, because I love You, I am sincerely sorry for ever having offended You.

Pardon me, my God, and permit me to accompany You on this journey.

You go to die for love of me; I want, my beloved Redeemer, to die for love…

--

--