Colin Campbell started his own secular religion

Cathy Reisenwitz
2 min readJan 2, 2023

--

Welcome to Sex and the State, a newsletter about human connection. To support my life’s work, buy one of my guides, follow me on OnlyFans, follow me on Twitter, support me on Patreon, or just share this post 🙏

~~~~~

Research shows religious people are healthier and live longer on average than non-religious people. According to Loneliness, one meta analysis shows it’s going to church regularly, not religious faith or a healthier lifestyle, that gives religious people their edge. (If you haven’t, check out my Twitter thread about the book and recent interview with one of the authors).

As I wrote not too long ago, church is a great way to make friends, and the main source of civic society for most of the US, according to Alienated America.

Trying to take my own advice, I went to church not too long ago with my sister. I had to leave during the sermon when he started talking about Paul’s “If a man doesn’t work he shall not eat.” Which, like Paul telling women to cover their heads in church, or discussing who owed who money, was obviously about a specific group of people at a specific time, not a valid basis for universal ethics or public policy. After all Jesus said feed the hungry, and never once mentioned work requirements. Fuck. That. Shit.

So what’s a person to do if they want all the social support, civil society, and longevity of religious faith without all the bullshit?

Enter Aretéanism, a secular religion started by Colin Campbell. In our in-depth interview, Colin told me he noticed that religious revival was one of the few ways civilizations have rebounded throughout history. Noticing that the existing religions lacked a lot of good stuff and were full of a lot of bad stuff, he created his own. Check out our interview below:

https://youtu.be/5gMtC6EJ_zk

To learn more about the church and Colin, email contact@areteanism.org.

--

--

Cathy Reisenwitz

Writer at the intersection of policy & people. As seen on TV & in TechCrunch, The Week, VICE, Daily Beast, etc. Newsletter: cathyreisenwitz.substack.com