Are We Smarter Than House Cats?

The intuitive nature of cats

Nancy Parish
Catness

--

Harper and me on the couch / Photo courtesy of the Author

I recently shared an anecdote about how my cat Harper called my Sister-in-Law on my cell phone. She was scrolling through my Instagram feed, looking for photos of other animals, maybe birds specifically, and somehow dialed the number.

She ran away as I told my sister-in-law what I surmised had happened. I think Harper was annoyed she couldn’t scroll any longer.

It led me to wonder if she did it on purpose. Even annoyed as she was, maybe she could sense I needed a good laugh so she supplied one. I still smile when I think of her making that call.

That made me wonder if animals were smarter than humans. They certainly are very intuitive.

One study found that Bottlenose dolphins’ brains are comparable to human brains in relative mass and complexity, a fact that also contributes to the dolphin’s extensive cognitive abilities.

Are we smarter than house cats?

That is a difficult question to answer. To investigate, researchers look at cognitive ability when measuring animal intelligence.

Researchers have found that house cats have the cognitive ability of a human toddler.

--

--

Nancy Parish
Catness

Amateur Cat Herder. Previously, Contributing Editor for CWIM. My ebook Life with Scout: The Blind Kitty Chronicles avail. https://thesoundandfurry.com/