Cat and Mouse

A brief snapshot of life with impish furballs

Lyndz Cay
Catness
2 min readSep 24, 2022

--

Medium-haired tabby with white paws reaching towards a mouse
Photo by Katherine Mihailova on Pexels.com

A few months ago, I treated myself to a new laptop. My 8+-year-old laptop had no battery life. I missed being able to curl up on the Papasan with my computer. On top of that, half of the keys on the keyboard don’t work, so I had to use a wireless keyboard. Since I got my new computer, I’ve basked in the pleasure of having a functioning laptop again.

Last night I was getting ready to close a browser window when my mouse cursor started going crazy. It bounced all over the screen! It responded to my touch on the laptop pad, but as soon as I lifted my finger, it resumed its crazy, spastic path.

I looked up at my desk where I usually keep my computer.

And saw this.

Orange tabby with white chest and paws next to a blue computer mouse.
Jonesy the Troublemaker next to “his toy” mouse. Photo by author.

I guess I should have known. The mouse has ended up on the floor multiple times. I suppose it’s better that he be obsessed with knocking off my mouse than my cups of water or tea.

--

--

Lyndz Cay
Catness
Writer for

Animal behavior, training, and welfare professional. Cat fanatic. Repository of useless facts.