Cat Feeding Stroll in Old Bangkok

Photography and a couple of frivolous thoughts about cat magic

Quirkin
Catness
3 min readFeb 2, 2024

--

All images were taken by the author in January 2024 in Bangkok, Thailand

When we are between death and rebirth, our good deeds come to us in the form of friendly white forms… I read this in a book. Just a metaphor but I thought: every time I feed a stray cat, I release a firefly into my subconscious. One day, this flock will get free and guide me to a new life in a better place.

A fleeting fantasy but it warmed my heart.

Photo by author

A walk in Talat Noi, Bangkok. A few years ago, this was just another neighborhood of shabby houses and cramped alleys, not many people knew about. Today, they position Talat Noi as the real Bangkok. Thousands of people, both foreigners and locals, come to have a stroll or a bicycle tour there.

Photo by author

Despite this, the area is still quiet and not yet spoiled by tourism. And it is abundant with cats, most importantly!

Photo by author

The secret of that is simple: most of Talat Noi’s residential buildings have only two floors, so house felines can freely leave their homes and roam the streets, make friends, find true love, etc.

Photo by author

There are strays in Talat Noi too. Some of them, however, have human allies who occasionally feed them. Often, it’s just plain rice:

Photo by author

The scattering of cat food is the remains of my offering.

Photo by author

This surprising eye contact did not stop for a while. It seemed that the cat was hypnotizing me… Trying to establish a bond, probably.

Perhaps, he wanted to become friends or to make me his human forever…

Image by author

Squinting and dropping spit, this chubby boy was funnily gnawing kibbles. Then, he gazed at me this lovely way…

Unsure about the afterlife effect, I mentioned, but cats do heal in this life. Heading to Talat Noi, I was a stressed photographer, struggling to silence negative reflections. Leaving the place, I was a carefree person who simply felt good.

What about you, dear reader, do cats have this sort of healing power over you?

--

--

Quirkin
Catness

Wandering Photographer. Traveler, cat lover