GETTING MY KITTY FIX WHEN APART FROM TILLY

Patricia O'Neill
Catness
Published in
3 min readJun 12, 2024
Tilly and I circa 2020

I do like cats. Presently while I can’t see my cat Tilly everyday I watch certain cat-themed YouTube channels. A lot of them are based in the USA. I wonder if any of you have YouTube cat channels you like. Here are some of mine:-

  • FFRC, Friends of Felines Rescue Center. A channel about a rescue based in Defiance, Ohio. They are concerned with trying to find permanent residences for homeless cats. They also look after disabled cats on an ongoing basis. All their cats are lovely but I have a soft spot for a couple of CH (wobbly) cats, Spiker an orange cat and Derecho who is grey and white.
  • SNAP Cats (Special Needs are Precious) which operates out of Santa Rosa, California. This shelter is dedicated especially to looking after disabled cats. The founder said he created the centre because in some shelters special needs cats are the first to be euthanised. Like FFRC they do stirling work.
  • Kit Kat Playroom Based in New Jersey this rescue looks after neonatal kittens. A few years ago they organised the putting of a shunt to drain excess fluid from the brain of a kitten with hydrocephalus, Tater, a ginger female. She lives there (not up for adoption) still and of course is an adult now.
  • Lex and Cinnabon. Lex took in a feral cat, Cinnabon, who he saw in the woods behind his house. Cinnabon is a ginger boy. It took some time to win his confidence for him to come indoors. Lex apparently wasn’t a cat person before he took in Cinnabon.
  • Cole and Marmalade. The lovely Cole (black cat) passed away but the people who run the channel still have Marmalade and have adopted some other kitties including torties Jugg and Zigzag. Run by the person who also does the Cat Man Chris channel.
  • MaxluvsMya Started off as a channel run by a young lady in Florida who had two cats, Siamese boy cat Max and orange she-cat Mya. She lost Max some while and back. The lady used to foster kittens but she now has a young baby so she and her significant have kitties Mya, Dobby and Boba (who will always be Rusty to me).
  • Adorable Paws. Turkish based charity feeding stray cats. The person looking after it has hit some financial difficulties lately so if anybody could watch one of their videos and let the ads run (irritating as YouTube ads can be) at least the channel would get some revenue.
  • Also Pets Are Angels based in Morocco where someone tries to help stray cats and dogs. Again if anyone could watch a video or videos and let the ads run it would be great.

Honourable mentions Lucky Ferals and Flatbush Cats and the Kitcats.

I know I’ve used the photo of Tilly at the top of this post before but I can’t take fresh ones.

Have I missed any of your favourite channels, dear readers. Let me know your opinions.

--

--

Patricia O'Neill
Catness

I'm a retired secretary. I've enjoyed writing as a hobby since childhood and decided to try my luck on Medium. Looking out for side hustles :).