Patricia O'Neill
Catness
Published in
2 min readJun 10, 2024

--

Computer drawing of cat getting scanned by Louise Peacock

HAVE YOU MICROCHIPPED YOUR MOGGY?

Today 10th June 2024 is the day when it’s become obligatory for people in the UK to have their cats microchipped. I got my cat as a rescue from a charity called Cats Protection who had seen that the honours were done before I adopted her.

It seems a sensible precaution though I have a feeling some may still fly under the radar. Cats Protection and the RSPCA are offering a scheme whereby people who aren’t exactly living on Millionaires’ Row can have their kitties microchipped and fixed for £5. I’m assuming that’s £5 per cat in cases where there are more than one cat.

For people outside the UK a ‘moggy’ is a cat. The word is used in Liverpool though I’ve also heard it in Birmingham and no doubt it’s used in other places too. In the heyday of the Beatles a number of Liverpuddlian turns of phrase crossed over into more general usage.

A microchipped cat will be easier to locate if he or she goes off for a wander. I had a cat run away once.* Fortunately I found her without use of her microchip number but it was a horrible feeling during the hours she was missing.

So, dear readers, if you are UK based I hope you are taking steps to have your cat microchipped. Hopefully your pet won’t go AWOL but a microchip could help reunite you with your furry friend should he/she decide to go hiking.

*My story ‘When Pebbles Ran Away’.

--

--

Patricia O'Neill
Catness

I'm a retired secretary. I've enjoyed writing as a hobby since childhood and decided to try my luck on Medium. Looking out for side hustles :).